We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream!!”
Review of Old Hampton Ice Cream Parlor - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Hampton Ice Cream Parlor
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Take my word! This locally owned ice cream shop is great! Support small businesses instead of stale franchises. Great ice cream and other treats. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaM41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great cones”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife an I have visited the Hampton area several times in the last 5 years. Every time we visit we have to stop in the Old Hampton Ice Cream Parlor. Great selection of ice cream and good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ice1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean, bright, roomy interior. Friendly staff. Pet friendly (they serve pup-sicles!) A few tables outside accomodate two- three people, but more room inside. Great escape from the heat or sit outside on a beautiful summer eve. Great selection of ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gigihampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I found my new flavor!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We both promised to go into this ice cream parlor, but seemingly every time we got there it was closed. Finally one afternoon we decided to eat ice cream before dinner, so we got there and it was open...sampled a red velvet something, but not up to my expectations, so I ordered a scoop of the turtle sundae...heavenly! My favorite butter pecan, with a ribbon of chocolate? Divine! I will return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrTorres_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hometown ice cream shoppe”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped by here on the way to Air and Soace Museum and never even knew it was there. Nice shop. Friendly staff. Yummy ice cream treat. Excellent customer service. I was truly surprised there weren't many people here since I found it to be very charming and in a great location too. I hope more learn of this shop through advertisement and this review. http://www.virginia.org/Listings/Dining/OldHamptonIceCreamParlor/

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robynvitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hampton Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing