We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful free nature preserve right in Hampton

Add me to the list of people who are fans of this park. I am in town for work and wanted to find a... read more

Reviewed April 3, 2019
GCC14173
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Excellent walking trails

My husband, grandson and I walk Sandy Bottom, they for Pokemon collection and I get the exercise... read more

Reviewed November 23, 2018
Glory G
,
Hampton, United States
Read all 102 reviews
  
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
52
38
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
52
38
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boats walking trails fenced area the grill meeting room newport news nice walk snakes camping woods lakes yurts fishing picnic wetlands playground hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 102 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2018

A gem of a park sandwiched in between an interstate and urban development. It was left along because the material here was used to build the interstate.

Has 2 lakes, one deep one for fishing and pier, just 6-7 feet out it goes down 18 foot, a larger one that spreads out for rent boats. Diverse wildlife, there is a primitive campsite down a walking trail, or several canvas yurt, pitched on small private piers over the water in the front part of the park. These are extremely close to each other and limited in number. There are fire pits. There is a range station with snakes, turtles, frogs, and a dog park for registered animals.

The are multiple paths thru the woods and large picnic structures, gazebo in a large room for rent.

Yes it closes st sundown, most government parks do, yes like Newport News, Hampton doesn’t allow alcohol in city parks, The curfews at sundown is for protection, to keep those not camping out, and they have a noise policy after a certain hour, if you look at how tight the yurts are place to each other you would understand.

I have seen morons in this park, very common, one idiot, it had been raining for several days, there is a picnic table right off where you rent kayaks and canoes on the large lake. Sign says don’t drive on the grounds. Instead of walking his stuff 20-30 feet, he drives off the road, parks next to the tables, huge wide, 4-5 inches deep tire tracks. Yes the rangers will call you out, yes they will call the police.

Some people feel a sense of entitlement, have no problems tearing up the park for their convenience.

Please find somewhere to go. The lake paths can flood and even the rangers carts can cause mud ruts, they don’t need a huge SUV helping out.

Only negative is around 3 pm it can get noisy as the Langley Air Force jets land.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Night M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

If you want a place to get away from it all, then Sandy Bottom Nature Park is for you ! Nestled in a busy corner of Hampton, one would never know it once you get out of your car. When I visited in February I took advantage of the endless nature trails. I saw deer and I sat by the glorious lake. It gave me such a peaceful feeling. I can’t wait for warmer weather to ride on the paddle boats and enjoy a quiet picnic lunch ! Sandy Bottom Nature Park has something for everyone !

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Yecart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Quiet and beautiful, but mostly a trail for hiking (which is what it is described as.) With leaves everywhere, it was at times hard to tell where the trail was. Really nice park, and close to everything.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 993mattr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Sandy Bottom Nature Park is a great place to take a walk. There is a path all the way around the lake. The only down side is the proximity to the highway resulting in a significant amount of road noise. Aside from that the park is lovely.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The lake is very small, dirty and full of mosquitos. Sadly The nature center does not offer a tour guide.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank G8118FPlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews