We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer sampling”
Review of Park Lane Tavern

Park Lane Tavern
Ranked #3 of 303 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Yorktown
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great beer sampling”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We popped in here one evening after being exposed to a variety of beers in Europe. There aren't too many places on the Peninsula that have the variety of Park Lane Tavern, and none with the ambiance. You can select beers from a substantial number of drafts all listed in a bound menu/guide. 4 oz samplers are served on a small plank with each sample labeled by name. There are enough choices that it may simply be overwhelming to some - but the waitstaff are well versed in the characteristics of most of the listings and we had a great time tasting - and still had room for an excellent appetizer (stuffed mushrooms). Clean, busy but not noisy - a great place to meet friends or relax after a hard day at work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorktownTraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    117
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had the fish and chips while my wife had a cheese burger. The fish was quite good and my wife pronounced the burger done to a turn. Good selection of beers. They will give you a small taste of something that you haven't tried but charge 20 cents which kinda irked me. Server was very good and right on the spot. We ate at the bar which was just fine by me. Could see all the goings on and it was quite busy. Neat place all in all. This was our second time there and we'll most likely return when we're in that part of the world,
I should mention that they have a very good selection of single malts for those that share that predilection. Prices weren't totally out of line and some were better than what I have seen around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speckul8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great English Pub”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good food and excellent location in Peninsula Town Center. We ate there twice in our 3 day stay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRogersLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awesome fish & chips!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

excellent fish & chips — tender, moist, flavorful, and a HUGE portion. salads are also very good, and the beer assortment is hard to beat. good atmosphere and affordable. no complaints.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was delicious! A bit more than I'd like to have paid for dinner, but the beer was delicious and so was the food. Would return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Lane Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing