We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is not very clean and not worth the price that they charge, $75 a night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hampton
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is not very clean and not worth the price that they charge, $75 a night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is my first time staying at a Red Roof Inn. I stayed at this location because of the host hotel of the event that I was attending was booked.

Once we got our room it was aweful. The bed had pubic hair all over it and at room was not clean. The bed looked as if the linings had never been changed. We did not feel comfortable with our location of the hotel. We asked for another room and that room looked as if someone was already staying there with unmade bed and dirty. After 3 tries, we finiallly got a room that was fairly clean. It was not as clean as I expected it to be.

Lastly, upon checking out, the lady behind the counter had charged the security deposit on my credit card. We didn't use the safe, but I told her and she credited it to my card, but only for 1 night. There was an additonal $1.50 still charged for the second night.

Overall, the hotel was not nearly as nice as expected from the website or hotel description. The room rate was much too high ($75-night)for the quality of hotel that we stayed at, where we could have stayed at the next door Howard Johnson or Quality Inn for a cheaper price and more immendities, but they were already booked.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaychelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    28
    13
    34
See reviews for
29
25
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Upon arriveing at this hotel, I found a very polite, friendly and helpful desk clerk.
Who quickly checked me inn (punn there) and gave me the key to a room.
However I had to return to him for a different room due to the fact that the room I was assigned had a terrible odor. I couldnt say for sure if it was a moldy odor, or damp smoke. But the clerk was quick to change my room, had no problems doing so and I was set for the night. The room was a little old in material, but was clean and properly prepared for guests.
I slept well.
THe only real complaint was that the Internet access was slow.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this location. The rooms are bright and roomy, the staff, rates and location are great and its in the heart of everything..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheyenne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

You get what you pay for but this hotel was alittle outdated and needs some renovations. Didnt want to lay on bed room looked so dirty. The staff was friendly but the rooms were old looking

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

this hotel was very neat an clean.the sevice wasexcellent. the people were very nice and friendly. planning on staying again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio25757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

room 312. frig didn't work tried turning on, nope. looked for plug but it was behind dresser which was fed thru bottom drawer. ice machine didn't work.
complained to head office of chain refunding me $40. said ice machine was waiting on part and frig did work. I guess frig smarter than us. cause we could not get to work. drank warm soda and water.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Hello me and my best friend took my daughter to meet her friend and we stayed in room 123 well the first day we got there i knew right away that the room was haunted,I heard a woman talking had shadows in the room my bed was shaking,I saw a woman's face and a man's face n my friend heard a woman's saying excuse me and it was 2am in the morning I took a picture with my cell phone and there is a shadow that i caught on it. The days that we were there was feb27 to 28 2009.
It's a nice hotel but i couldn't sleep for the two nights something kept me up my friend and her daughter and my daughter were able yo sleep but not me
I'm wondering if anyone else heard and seen things also.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank njblackraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
1.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hampton - Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hampton

Property: Red Roof Inn Hampton
Address: 1925 Coliseum Dr, Hampton, VA 23666-4234
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
Hampton Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing