We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel was very nice I loved the kitchen setup!!

The only minor complaint I would have is the recliner in the room was very old and the leather on the chair was peeling off on the arm rests as well as the portion of the chair that your back rests on. The room was a little musty but we used the Lysol we brought from home to give it a fresh smell.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopkins328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hopkins328, Thanks for your feedbqack, I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I do want to apologize about the condition of the recliner, we are working avidly to get these replaced as fast as we can. We hope we can accomodate you again if you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area in the future. Thanks again for your time in giving your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
25
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I selected this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is hard to find a good place to stay with pets. This has been a good experience. So far I have been here 4 nights. Very clean, comfy bed, large room with updated furnishings. There is an ample area to walk the dogs around the property. The property is nicely kept. Across the street there is a side walk that you can use to walk the dogs as well. The staff has been very friendly. Hampton as a whole has some very scary areas, I feel safe here. I would stay here again.
No restaurant but snack foods are available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Barb S, thanks so much for your review! I am glad you were pleased with your experience. We love our furry guests and are glad they felt just as accomodated as you! We know it can be stressful traveling with pets, and we enjoy providing and friendly and welcoming environment for you, and your pets. We are thrilled to here we will be seeing you and the girls again, take care! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
547 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights using loyalty points scheme. What a bargain! Great, friendly, helpful staff. Large, comfortable, clean and well equipped suites. Great for self caterers. Location a bit remote, but otherwise excellent experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear jandlUK, thank you for your positive feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to give your thoughts of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and made good use of your IHG Reward Points. I will pass your compliments on to the staff, and we hope to see you soon! Thanks again for your review, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Surprisingly comfortable hotel, large rooms and friendly service. Nice full kitchen with cooktop. (this hotel does not serve breakfast, and there isn't much nearby, so plan on bringing your own). Love the gazebo area outside with gas grills and picnic table, perfect for our group so we can all meet for dinner without leaving our pets. We will definitely stay here again when in Hampton.

Room Tip: If you plan to use grill, gazebo area, I would request gazebo side as it was a pain carrying everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WithMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear WithMyDog, thank you so much for your review of your experience here at Candlewood Suites Hampton. We aim to please, and I am glad we did so with you, and your furry travelers. I am glad you enjoyed the outdoor amenities like the gazebo and gas grills. We hope to see you again soon, if you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I used TripAdvisor and found that Candlewood Suites was rated very high so we stayed there. We where very happy with the room and the staff. We would stay here again.
Very large suite, this reminded me of timeshares we have rented, kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware. Large living room with couch and chair and tv. Separate bedroom with a tv. Large bathroom, washers and dryers, exercise room, pantry with food items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Paul F, Thanks for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that your stay was a 5 star rating. I am pleased to see you enjoyed everything with your room, and glad to see you'll be coming back to see us! Thanks again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Preface: I am specifically speaking about Room 108 as I cannot speak for all of the rooms.

The moment you walk in the room, you get this odor stench of wet dog. If you can get past that, the room layout is nice, spacious, comfortable. It would have been nice to have a trashcan in the bathroom to dispose of my feminine products, and not have to place them in the trashcan in the kitchen which shares the same room as the bed (studio style).

All in all, I give them a 3/5. The reason they are not a 2/5 is because of one of the friendly staff members who went out of his way to lay a blanket on the ground outside as well as a bowl of water for this homeless dog. My friend said he told her he would be taking him to his place until an animal rescuer could come get him. Very generous, friendly man. Wish more people were like him.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear harrisce4,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated the service you received from our staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the room cleanliness. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always read trip advisor before making travel decisions but have learned that sometimes you have to realize that some folks just can't be pleased! We stayed here over two weeks and it was outstanding! Service, staff, cleanliness, room set up---all perfect! The barbeque area is great for extended stay customers that want to cook here, as are the kitchenettes!!! They welcome and respect pets and pet owners, and the room prices are phenomenal which for a facility this nice, was the icing on the cake!!! My only suggestion, not a complaint, is the leather chair in our room. It's peeling everywhere and although I understand its a pet room and some ornery puppy probably had his way with it, it's tacky nonetheless in such a nice facility. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends!!! We would stay here again and will continue to look for Candlewood Suites in other locations when traveling!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Kathy B, Thanks for all the compliments in your feedback! We aim to be #1 when it comes to guest satisfaction. I am so glad your 2 week stay here was so pleasant. I do apologize about the condition of the recliner in your room. We are in the process of replacing these with new, more durable chairs. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
0.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Property: Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666-1576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing