We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, nice people, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, nice people, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was there for a short weekend stay. This hotel was in a very good location with easy access to the interstate and close to venues I was attending and eateries. It was also quietly situated in a wooded area and the pond was very nice.
It was a very clean unit with everything I needed. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The upgraded furniture, bed and linens made it feel like home away from home. The only negative was the ice cubes from the ice maker tasted bad even though they were freshly made. Also, a pool or hot tub would've been nice and if I had the kids with me or been staying longer I would've chosen a place that provided this. Overall, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sv31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
30
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Nice location and very pet friendly. Furniture was a little worn but the room was very clean and stocked with typical amenities. Great value for the price. Location was nice and fairly close to fast foods, shopping and the Coliseum.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
PastorHugh, thank you for giving feedback about your stay with us! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your visit & noticed the hotel being very pet friendly. Pets are like family to us here at Candlewood Suites. I am sorry about the condition of the furniture in your suite, we are currently in the process of replacing all recliners and hope you will stay with us again next time you visit the Hampton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on business, and must say, for a slightly older hotel, this place is kept up with. The front desk was welcoming, rooms were clean, and linens were so soft. Plenty of desk space to do some work, and not feel cramped. The kitchen has a very modern feel, all black appliances, nice countertops. Everyone that I encountered seemed to be so nice, always saying hello with a smile, and making sure I didn't need anything. I will recommend this hotel to colleagues and friends, and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Leo4life, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We take pride in the cleanlinest of our hotel. I will make sure to pass your compliments to the staff. We are please to see that you were satisfied with the renovations that have occured in the last year, and appreciate you referring us to your colleagues. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in the Candlewood Suites for 2 weeks whilst visiting Hampton (from the UK) for work purposes, and I also stayed there in 2012 for 3 weeks. It is perfect for such stays: clean, large rooms with more-than-adequate facilities, reasonably fast internet, comfortable bed, etc. Other facilities also just right, and it was great to have a running track around the golf course right across the street. Convenient for work, shops, restaurants and the I64 freeway for traveling further afield. Friendly, helpful staff helps make a hotel stay feel more homely.
Only 1 suggestion: recycling receptacles would be good for people making use of the self-catering facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Mark L for staying with us ! We love to hear when our guest have a great experience. I have shared your comments with the team. We just updated our wireless internet today for a even faster internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Will stay there every time I come to Hampton. Love the area everything is close to the room. Loved everything about the room. The softest bed ever wish I could take it home. I truely loved everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prfectpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you pfectpear for sharing with us about your experience with us at Candlewood Suites Hampton. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We picked this hotel because we were in town for a five day basketball tournament and wanted more than just a standard hotel room and something affordable for the whole team. Considering this area has limited house rentals compared to Florida, this was an okay option. I thought the property was very neat looking on the inside and outside. We had the 1 bedroom suite that we shared with 3 other players. There was ample closet space and drawer space with a dresser in the bedroom and entertainment center in the living area with drawers. There was a large closet in the living and bedroom area. The bath room was a good size. The kitchen area was pretty well stocked with plates, glasses, pans and such. The appliances were very clean. The space looks brighter and larger in the stock photos because it was a little smaller than I expected. The downstairs laundry area was very clean and large with about 6 washers and 6-8 dryers. The "pantry" was always stocked. They used an "honor" system where you write down what you take and pay without anyone monitoring it. The exercise area was also clean and had about 6 different machines. The main hallways were clean and clutter free. The only negative was a slight smell in the room. I'm thinking maybe from a pet? We travel a lot so I always have carpet deodorizer, candles, and put dyer sheets over the air vents. The trash cans on the back stairs were always filled. They are rather small for the amount of people who use them. They were dumped frequently.

Oh, it is right around the corner from the Boo Williams facility. There were plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Carla390 for letting us know about your stay. I see you stayed with us last year. We have recently renovated all of our rooms and upgraded the wireless internet. Plus we are in the process of rolling out our new bedding package ! We hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Candlewood's is in a very convenient location, has excellent and helpful staff and is clean and ready for occupancy upon arrival. The rooms have been remodeled and are more efficient if you need to set up a mobile office. I run 2 pc's and an extra monitor and had no problem with space or the number of available power outlets.

Room Tip: Get on the backside third floor - view of the lake and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNORD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear SNORD9 thank you for sharing your experience with us. The renovations are amazing and so delighted you loved the new look. We recently upgraded our wireless internet as well. We hope to see you again. Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Property: Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing