We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Metro Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok, for the price”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We picked this hotel because we were in town for a five day basketball tournament and wanted more than just a standard hotel room and something affordable for the whole team. Considering this area has limited house rentals compared to Florida, this was an okay option. I thought the property was very neat looking on the inside and outside. We had the 1 bedroom suite that we shared with 3 other players. There was ample closet space and drawer space with a dresser in the bedroom and entertainment center in the living area with drawers. There was a large closet in the living and bedroom area. The bath room was a good size. The kitchen area was pretty well stocked with plates, glasses, pans and such. The appliances were very clean. The space looks brighter and larger in the stock photos because it was a little smaller than I expected. The downstairs laundry area was very clean and large with about 6 washers and 6-8 dryers. The "pantry" was always stocked. They used an "honor" system where you write down what you take and pay without anyone monitoring it. The exercise area was also clean and had about 6 different machines. The main hallways were clean and clutter free. The only negative was a slight smell in the room. I'm thinking maybe from a pet? We travel a lot so I always have carpet deodorizer, candles, and put dyer sheets over the air vents. The trash cans on the back stairs were always filled. They are rather small for the amount of people who use them. They were dumped frequently.

Oh, it is right around the corner from the Boo Williams facility. There were plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Carla390 for letting us know about your stay. I see you stayed with us last year. We have recently renovated all of our rooms and upgraded the wireless internet. Plus we are in the process of rolling out our new bedding package ! We hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    37
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
30
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Candlewood's is in a very convenient location, has excellent and helpful staff and is clean and ready for occupancy upon arrival. The rooms have been remodeled and are more efficient if you need to set up a mobile office. I run 2 pc's and an extra monitor and had no problem with space or the number of available power outlets.

Room Tip: Get on the backside third floor - view of the lake and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNORD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear SNORD9 thank you for sharing your experience with us. The renovations are amazing and so delighted you loved the new look. We recently upgraded our wireless internet as well. We hope to see you again. Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I love the hotel the accommodations were great our hallway did smell really bad but the room was clean and nice. Stayed for two weeks because I had to. The problem we had was Pierre drained our bank account and by drained he charged our card when he was not suppose to so the my account was negative 500$ on the day the we were placing our deposit on our new house. Because of his "mistake" as they called it and his charge of over 1300$ we lost our house and now have to stay in the hotel even longer. Oh joy....thanks Pierre I really hate you. And hate is a strong word but you really screwed my family leaving us homeless until we can find another place... While we wait for your hotel to get us our money back which oh could take 5 to 7 business days...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosecheely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear rosecheely,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding accommodation.

However, We’re sorry about the billing confusion and poor customer service. We will review your feedback. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to stay! I had to coordinate several rooms for my daughter's volleyball team and spoke to Michele, Adam and George several times prior to my trip. They were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the queen bed and lines very cozy. I especially liked all of the walking space and kitchen area. Much more space than your typically hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWSHPT, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Hampton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Beth W for sharing your experience with us. We have an amazing team here at Candlewood Hampton. Our goal is deliver exceptional service to all of our guest. I have shared your comments with the team. Again thank you for wonderful comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I just pcs'ed to the area, and after finding the Langley hotel didn't have the room I reserved, I called this hotel. The staff was very accommodating and got me settled in very quickly, at a great rate. The room was big, and clean, which was very important to me since I have a 3 year old. I stayed a little longer than I thought because I couldn't find a apt I liked. The hotel assured me this was no problem, and was always helpful in giving me suggestions where to look. Adam treated us like family, and we really felt comfortable asking his opinions about the area. All of the other staff members were always friendly, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Price is great. Area is quiet. Staff is phenomanol. Thanks Candlewood Suites, for the wonderful welcome to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmaeder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff at this Candlewood Suites is TERRIFIC! Everyone has been very helpful for the three weeks that I have stayed here. One morning, one of the staff members even scraped my frosty windows before I headed off to work. The pantry has excellent choices for meals/snacks and use of the laundry facility is free. Easy access to Interstate 64, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

property recently renovated.this property was very nice before the renovation. laundry and gym on property. great experience at this location. staff was very friendly and courteous. I would recommend this location for business or pleasure. great location for extended stays

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonX_756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Hampton

Property: Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Address: 401 Butler Farm Rd, Hampton, VA 23666-1576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Hampton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Renovated Guest rooms. Feel free to experience the Candlewood Suites Hampton, VA. Enjoy our extended stay hotel offering apartment like studio and one bedroom suites, similar to corporate housing. At this recently renovated hotel, enjoy our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection, fully equipped kitchens, free local calls, and stay connected via our free high-speed Internet access. Unwind in our complimentary fitness center while using our free guest laundry. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. We are a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The hotel is convenient to numerous businesses, Langley AFB, Fort Monroe, NASA Research Center, Ft Eustis, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University, Newport News Naval Base, and Hampton Convention Center. The hotel is 21 miles from Norfolk International Airport (ORF). US Armed Services and government employees are welcome at Candlewood Suites Hampton which always offers government per diem rates. Whether staying for business, pleasure, or relocation, the caring staff at the Candlewood Suites Hampton is ready to serve you! Consider us home while visiting Hampton Roads, Yorktown, Newport News, Williamsburg, Norfolk, and Suffolk, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Hampton Hotel Hampton
Candlewood Hampton
Hampton Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing