We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Surprise”

Fort Monroe's Casemate Museum
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband suggested we stop and check it out and I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. It was very interesting and enjoyable. I even learned some things! I would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MadCOWVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    112
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good history, off the beaten path, awesome beach nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Really neat museum to see and experience. Really neat to see how military gun improvements brought more protection to Norfolk and surrounding area. One on the rare things that most people don't know about is the amazing beach found just south of the museum on this island. Yes, it's public, and not overly populated. Overlook beach is the name. Great view of vessels coming back into the bay.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank flydug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox Dale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
243 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great museum to visit at a unique are that was once an Army base. Highly recommended if you are in the Hampton Roads area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Casemate Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Free Museum, history of Fort Monroe, nice people, gift shop, located at Fort Monroe, small area to drive through

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A must visit for Civil War buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

It is a well conceived museum highlighting the incarceration of the traitor Jeff davis after his capture by the Union troops.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Monroe's Casemate Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fort Monroe's Casemate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing