We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“acouple good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Frank Beamer's American Grill - CLOSED

Frank Beamer's American Grill
Cuisines: American
Description: Located in Hampton's Peninsula Town Center
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Hampton's Peninsula Town Center
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“acouple good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

steak was good one time . second time not so good had to send it back but was good second time but everyone was done bytime i got mine

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tiredofbadfoodhampt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food, Service, everything..just bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Since we are huge Tech fans just expected at least average but didn't even get that. Food was sub-par, overcooked and bland and service was worse. We won't be back.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank seascape_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Who knows what you'll get...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've been here twice, both times getting the same exact meal. The first time it was delicious. Best steak I had in a very long time. Mashed potatoes were awesome. Second time I felt like I was at Golden Corral. Horrible steak. Well I shouldn't say that because a Golden Corral steak was better...

Service each time was so so. Servers were not very knowledgeable about what was in some of the food. I was told I was getting a soup with asparugus, and cream , yet the soup was a clear broth and there was no asparagus to be found. When I asked the waiter what the soup was again, he said it had provolone ???? and artichokes in it .... Still have no clue what was in it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“If Pizza, Burgers, and Fries Are Your Thing, This is the Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I've now had lunch at this restaurant twice...which tells you that it is good enough to return to. Both times the service has been excellent. The first time, I had their pizza, which is very good. My husband had a burger and thought it was delicious. During this most recent visit my friend had the pizza and loved it and I had the New Orleans penne pasta. I wasn't crazy about it. The andouille sausage wasn't as spicy as it should've been. However, it was a satisfying meal. I do love their french fries. I think this will be more of a stop when I'm in the Town Center and craving pizza. Their prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is nice, so it's not somewhere I would rule out entirely, but it probably wouldn't be my first choice either.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MakingMemories317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Choice for Group Events”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our office had a farewell dinner for a coworker at Frank Beamer's; we had about 30 people in our group and reserved a small room. There were numerous problems from start to finish. First, the restaurant limited us to a choice of six entrees (which they let us know in advance); they wouldn't let us order off the regular menu for anything other than appetizers. It wasn't a terrible selection, but if our group came separately in couples, we'd all have still been seated and able to choose whatever we wanted.

The service was good at first with all drink orders promptly taken and served as people showed up. However, it quickly went down hill. The four people at my table were among the first to order, yet when served (30 minutes later), we were among the last. To make it worse, the waitress started delivering our food to the wrong table. One person at that table order the same entree I did (pizza), with some changes. He didn't realize it was the wrong order until after he put his fork into it. I told the waitress she gave my food to the other table, and she offered to get it and bring it to me -- after the other person started to eat it.

Another person at my table ordered a hamburger; it was cold. We realized our food had been waiting for sometime in the kitchen before the waitstaff brought it out. A third person had salad and said the dressing was too heavy and sweet.

This was my first time to Frank Beamer's (and probably my last), but a coworker has come here for several functions and said it was a poor experience each time.

There were others in our group who appeared to enjoy the service and their meal, but the experience at our table was terrible. None of the food they offered was out of the ordinary for a bar & grill, but it was priced higher than other better restaurants.

I did speak with a manager about our experience; he was apologetic and asked what he could do to make it right. At that point I'd been waiting for 45 minutes to eat; I decided to forego the meal and just enjoy the company of my coworkers. He did not adjust the bill for the coworker with the cold food, though he didn't charge me for the Coke I had (how generous).

My first experience with Frank Beamer's wasn't so terrible that I'd have never gone back, but knowing that friends had poor to mediocre experiences in the past tells me this isn't a restaurant that I want to take a chance on, especially when there are far better choices in the same area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank det_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Beamer's American Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing