We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We planned a trip to Hampton last minute to visit a family member right before Christmas. We actually booked the hotel on our way to Hampton. In the area, the hotel price ranges were $100+ a night, and in Hampton, that is a very bad deal!

I called Crowne Plaza about 4 hours before our arrival and they said they were having a special, $85 for two nights, with breakfast. Can we say amazing deal??? When we arrived, noticed that the hotel sat on the marina in town next to the Air & Space Center. Walked into the lobby and was just amazed at how nice it was. The occurring theme throughout the hotel is nautical. I just loved it, everything was very nice. Would be a great venue for a wedding or party!

At check in we were met by a very friendly hotel attendant, gave us our keys and sent us on our way. We found out that we were upgraded to the largest suite they have overlooking the main street and the marina..it was amazing and huge! The linens were plush, not to mention the bed was a sleep number. On the bed they had left us a night mask and linen spray. It was like Christmas, I have never stayed in such a nice room...especially for $85 for two nights!!

The next morning we found out that they were not doing the continental breakfast due to the low numbers, but instead we ordered off menus. The food was amazing, and would have cost us about $30.

The morning we left, we were in a rush, so I called down to see if we could get our breakfast to go. When I went to pick it up the gals was super nice, she had gone above and beyond her job to package our breakfast up, she even buttered the toast for us. I believe her name was Deborah.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, in a great location, with great staff and food...the Crowne Plaza is your pick. I had never stayed at a Crowne Plaza before, but now I look for them every where I go!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessicaw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for review. We appreciate your most kind comments. We are often told that our hotel is a hidden secret. We are the only full service hotel on a marina within the Hampton Roads peninsula and the only downtown Hampton hotel. We are very pleased that the staff helped create a memorable experience and that the value you received met or exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 499 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

My room was rather spacious. There was a generous amount of desk space. The curtains don't close all the way, though (there's a small gap). This wasn't much of an issue for me. I had a flat-screen TV in my room, but it did not have HDTV. The walls can be a little thin, especially if the person next door has their TV volume cranked up. My room door had the standard deadbolt, but there wasn't a secondary locking mechanism (such as a chain). When I tried calling for a wake up call (twice), no one picked up either time. The room comes with its own alarm clock to set your own alarm, though. The bathroom had a shower only (no bathtub).

There is a free breakfast buffet (at least during the week), but it doesn't open until 6:30 AM. The sign outside the restaurant says that the buffet doesn't start until 7 AM, which is misleading. I liked the breakfast buffet--there was a good selection of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, sausages, yogurt, and a selection of pastries. The bar has a small selection of sandwiches for dinner.

The fitness center had the standard exercise equipment (elliptical, treadmill, bike) and there is water available. There is a pool, but it's closed for the winter.

There doesn't appear to be that much around the hotel to do, especially at night. During my stay at the hotel we did not venture out at night. The Virginia Air and Space Center, complete with carousel, is within walking distance of the hotel.

With a few slight improvements, I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for your contribution to our site. We appreciate your review. Most of our rooms are oversized and contain a water view. All of our rooms were completely renovated in the final two months of the 2008 calendar year. Each room does contain a flat screen television and we have made some HD improvements recently. I was very sorry to see that no one answered when you contacted the Front Desk and I have shared your experience with the entire Front Office Team. I appreciate the favorable comments about the breakfast items in our restaurant. We are in the process of making hotel-wide signage improvements. Thank you for your comments again. We would love to welcome you back if your travels bring you into the Hampton Roads area again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Recently stayed in Hampton over the weekend before Valentine's day. Had a very clean room with a beautiful view of the Marina. Dinner at the Regatta Grill was wonderful, Lydia did an awesome job! The gentleman at the front desk, the manager on duty I believe, was great, had a wonderful voice! I will definitely visit the Crown Plaza next time I am in Hampton, VA.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosesarered1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for your contributions to our site. We are very pleased that the service provided in our restaurant was so memorable that you were able to recall your server's name. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the view and were happy with the cleanliness of your guest room. We will pass along your cordial comments regarding your experience to both our Front Office and Regatta Grille staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had to travel to Hampton at the last minute due to death of my friend. I used Tripadvisor to find a hotel. The number 1 rated one was booked so we chose number 2 which was Crowne Plaza. We arrived early but the front desk was able to give us a room. They put us on the 8th floor with a view. They were very helpful in directing us to a place to eat and how to use the parking garage. Our room was great! The only complaint I have is the room did not have a microwave.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. Refrigerators are available, however; we do not have guest room microwaves. Our hotel was completely renovated in 2009. We will certainly consider your suggestion in any upcoming guest room modifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed for a company party that was held in one of the ballrooms. Not so nice service when we checked in, got a lot of attitude just for asking if we needed a key to get into the parking garage. Event was wonderful, great service throughout dinner, drinks, and dancing. Rooms are nice and a good size. Pretty good views of the marina. Slept great. Getting ready for the day the next morning I couldn't get any hot water out of the shower! When we checked out (with someone MUCH nicer) at the front desk I told her I couldn't get hot water and that's why we're leaving early. She said they were working on it. To me that's unacceptable to not have hot water working at a hotel on a Saturday morning. Couldn't believe it! Overall a hotel I have enjoyed a few times, just had bad luck this time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilkate07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Thank you for sharing details about our hotel and your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your party. At the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina we are 100% committed to guest satisfaction and loyalty. Your comments have been shared with our Front Office team. I would like to sincerely apologize and assure you that this is not the type of service we are accustomed to providing. The hot water issue that you encountered was an anomaly and has been rectified. Again your feedback is valuable and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

A small/moderate size convention hotel, the Crowne Plaza provides all of the standard amenities you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The basics are in place: comfortable and well-appointed rooms, restaurant/bar with room service, pool / business center / fitness center. The decor is very well done, with a consistent (but not overdone) nautical theme befitting its location at the Hampton Marina.

The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean and bright and charming. Many rooms have nice views of the marina and/or the Air and Space Center. There are, however, signs of deferred maintenance. The bathroom faucet in my room was broken (came loose from the counter), and the shower head was separating from the wall. A troubling trend if it's allowed to continue.

The location leaves something to be desired. There is very little to do in downtown Hamtpon, aside from the Virginia Air and Space Center and a one-block strip of restaurants/bars on Queens Way (two desolate blocks from the hotel). Otherwise, unless you're willing to drive, you'll have to settle for the hotel restaurant and bar, which are ok but not outstanding. The quality of the restaurant food and room service is blah, and room service delivery times average a half hour or longer.

Overall, a good choice for a visit to downtown Hampton or Hampton University. Comfortable and attractive. Just don't expect anything out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_DePiro, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for your candid feedback. We are most appreciative that you found the service to be uniformly pleasant throughout the hotel. Since your December visit we have upgraded our preventative maintenance team and process. We firmly believe that we will meet all of your expectations upon your next return. We have reviewed your comments with our culinary team. Sorry to hear that you felt that there is very little to do in Downtown Hampton. The Hampton History Museum is within walking distance of the hotel. There are also daily boat tours seasonably on the Miss Hampton Two which leaves right from the hotel. Additionally we are within five minutes of the Hampton-Peninsula Town Center Mall that encompasses over 70 shops and restaurants. Our Front Office Team has a list of things to do within the local area. Again thank you for your comments and overall review. We are 100 % committed to service and we are delighted that your encounter with our team was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We came for a wedding in Hampton, VA and the reception was at the hotel. The wedding block rate was $79, be we were only able to get that rate for one night since we booked late. We paid $130 for the second night. When we showed up, they had an upgraded room available on the top floor overlooking the water. It was a beautiful king suite with a sitting area, desk, dressing area, and large mirror. The room was large, clean, bright, and seemed new. We basically paid $100 per night for a very nice suite, and we were very happy with it. We had a great time at the hotel for this wedding. We hung out at the hotel bar both nights and they let us hang out there long after last call. Great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nct5x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are glad to hear you had a great stay! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Hampton Coliseum Central
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing Rd, Hampton, VA 23669-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: $91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing