We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Dangerous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could Be Dangerous”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed our Homecoming weekend there and were really unpleasantly surprised and disappointed. Our first room reeked of damp, musty, mildew from very wet carpet. Should this not dry properly, the hotel could be looking at black mold and the necessity of shutting down the 7th floor.

Room Tip: No room on the lower end of the 7th floor is safe right now. 701 - 709.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERJ5086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofHamptonMarina, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing in regards to your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. We are sad to hear that your stay was not enjoyable and we apologize for the issues you experienced. We are definitely looking into your concerns as we take this issue very seriously. We hoped you enjoyed the remainder of your Homecoming festivities and we hope that we can serve you again in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    139
    96
    49
    54
See reviews for
124
124
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel has a wonderful staff and Victoria in Latitude 37, the bar, is awesome! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the view of the marina is beautiful. There is a convenient parking garage with free parking on property and the hotel is right on the pier.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to hear that you find our hotel and the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the marina view.
We will be sure to share your review with our team here at the hotel and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Hampton this is a lovely place to stay. The hotel is very conveniently located to all this part of Virginia has to offer and the views from the maria rooms are spectacular.

Room Tip: Recommend marina view rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be very conveniently located. We are happy to hear you found our marina rooms spectacular.
Thank s again and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Cecibel was extremely friendly and we enjoyed our conversation with her while Ashley delivered excellent service and we enjoyed the two of these young ladies over Chef Marcus' exquisite dinner entrees. We will definitely come back to the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea196979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with Cecibel, Ashley and Marcus. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the excellent service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Comfortable hotel with good food and quick room service. Great bed, clean, nice staff. On the water in downtown Hampton. Only stayed one night, but enjoyed it. Interesting nautical theme, but not over done. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCFarm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a comfortable hotel with good food and quick room service. Great bed, clean, nice staff. On the water in downtown Hampton.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The view from the 8th floor is breath taking. The rooms are good size, althought no micro n fridge is dissappointing for a Crowne Plaza. We ordered room service for breakfast.... 40 wasted.. YES 40$ and it was awful. The staff was nice, the parking garage scary. The room was clean, a few attention to detail things need to be worked on. Also the side door that is supposed to be locked.... is not... so anyone can walk in... a little uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sharon S,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of your breakfast experience. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was average but clean and the service was good. The breakfast service was good. The thing that is great about this hotel is the location- walking distance to many sights/shops. The room size was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear DWA2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Address: 700 Settlers Landing Rd, Hampton, VA 23669-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing