We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay. Front desk Meccah and Danielle were the best. Keep our group together and helped with everything from ice to greet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Hot day
Thanks for maintenance mike for getting us ice.
Great location. Right on the water.
Front desk staff Meccah and Daniella are what every business needs at the front door. And special tanks to house keeping Jana ( hope I spelled her name ok)

Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calimydear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 494 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms have a musty (stuffy) smell. The carpets are dirty. The water in the shower was clogged up (The water came just above my ankles). There was no refrigerator in the room. (Only if you request one at the first desk ( a limited supply). The only positive about staying here is the Marina View!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SEWILSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear SEWILSON,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
case manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a work training. I was excited prior to arrival but I was a bit disappointed once I arrived. I'm no hotel snob but I do have minor expectations. I arrived on a Sunday and the elevator from the parking garage to the hotel was not working. There was no sign until you got to the bottom level where there was an out of order sign on that elevator. I left on Wednesday and the elevator is still out of order. The pool was empty and obviously not opened during my entire stay. I ordered room service for breakfast. No complaints about the food but 24+ hours after eating my food and my tray were still sitting outside my door. I went to Oyster Alley for dinner and sat by myself at a table for approximately 5 minutes. I never saw an employee and no one ever approached me to ask me if I wanted anything. There were other patrons that had already been served. Needless to say, I left. My room was nice. It was a little outdated and musty and there were signs of wear and tear. There was no bathtub in my room, just a shower. I did enjoy the view of the water. I can say that I would not choose to stay here again. If my company were to send me here I suppose I wouldn't have a choice. I had much higher hopes. Oh, the staff was very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear klglori,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and kind.

However, I am sorry to hear about your experience during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the troubles you encountered with our elevator and for the inconveniences you had with the level of service provided in the restaurant.

I have taken note of your comments and these will be used for future upgrades. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we still hope that you consider staying with us and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our product.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Me and my wife went to this hotel on June 1, 2013. When we made our reservations all we asked was there a pool & an AC unit.(this was in April) So when we arrived the pool was closed and the room was 80. If they had told us we would have stayed somewhere else. (i guess that's why they didn't ) There was no refrigerator in the room to even keep our drinks cold.I went with a large group of bowlers to the state bowling tournament. They said they would "provide and unforgettable weekend for you" well that they did and i won't soon forget it. This was our first and last trip to the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Call first!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Jesse F,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I apologize that you were inconvenienced with the shortcomings received in the service of the staff. This is definitely not up to standards and I assure you your comments will be relayed to them to ensure similar incidents could be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for the candid review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at this property on May 30, 2013. Not only was the marina bay location breath taking, but I had an incredible view of the morning sunrise. I stay at a lot of different properties with my job but what stood out at this one was their amazing customer service. In particular, Kyle at the front desk and Michael, the Bellman put the "c" in "customer service". While on this trip, I got injured at the airport and ended up on crutches and missed my flight. So I went back to the hotel for my second night, had the same room and because of my injury, Michael gave me a ride to my room on the luggage cart! Kyle was very concerned and went out of his way to help me as well. If I am every in Hampton again, I hope to secure another fabulous room at this hotel. The Maritime Décor was a very nice touch throughout the property. And the food was delicious! Thanks again to Kyle and Michael for being so gracious!

Room Tip: if you like the sunrise, ask for a room with that view. I not only had a view of the marina, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share them with the management and staff. Your comments are important to us and we will use them to improve our guest service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay in.The view on the 9th floor Executive suite was beautiful. The lights surrounding the Marina were generous especially the nights it was a full moon. It's a very relaxing place to stay and there lots of shopping in the surrounding area. The Patrick Henry Mall is a nice Mall to go and shop not far from the Hotel. It's just in the area of Newport News which is about 30 minutes away. The rooms at Hotel were clean and comfortable to stay in and service and staff are very nice. Restaurant had good food and breakfast buffet was good. Just a nice place to get away for a few days or longer. They treated the Elks Lodge members really nice and we thank them for their service. The noise didn't bother us in our room and you go to enjoy your self a little. And we were part of the Elk Lodge and had a wonderful time there. If I am correct that's Banquet rooms are for the guest to enjoy them selves. Again wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be courteous, helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast!
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

These rooms are great for an overnight or a weekend stay. Clean and good location. Walking distance to many good restaurants and the air and space center. The view is pretty and and the bump out windows in the rooms are a really cool feature. Otherwise, the rooms are a bit small, but not out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and finding it to be a " Cool Spot " I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share them with the staff. Your comments are important to us and we will use them to improve our efforts. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
3.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Address: 700 Settlers Landing Rd, Hampton, VA 23669-4035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: $90 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing