We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just Okay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night w/ another couple. We arrived late(after 10pm) and asked if we could have a marina view room if any were available. We were told that they had some available but b/c we booked from a 3rd party site they could not let us stay in one. We travel quite a bit and understand that they could have upgraded us if they wanted to b/c it was so late. We did point this out but were still given a city view room. The lady at the front desk was pleasant but we knew from this experience the staff at this hotel were not going to go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They were pleasant but that's all you get.

Room: The bed was hard and not that comfortable. The decor and room was dated. You can definitely see the wear and tear in the rooms. However, for one night it was fine.

I would stay here again if I was in the area but I would not pay full price for the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear BriaNicole:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am glad that you shared your feedback about the check in experience. I have shared your feedback with our front office team in an effort to prevent this from happening again. We do try to offer updgrades when the hotel is not sold out simply to show our guests that we value them and appreciate them for staying with us.

I do hope that you choose to visit us again in the near future!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    130
    91
    45
    50
See reviews for
117
118
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent two nights here while visiting the city docks. close to virginia air and space which is worth seeing. nice town for walking. breakfast and dinner were great. staff friendly. would stay there again. bar was good also. sort of quiet off season.

Room Tip: marina view but cost a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Tom S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Hampton. I must agree that it is defintely quiet here in the off season and yet it does give you a chance to still explore and appreciate the history of our downtown Hampton area which features the Air & Space Center along with some great restaurants and quaint shops.

Please feel free to visit with us again on your next trip to Hampton.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I were on a 2600 mile road trip from Missouri to the east coast. It was late in the day before we arrived at your Hotel to attempt to reserve a room. We always enjoy a hotel that is located near the water. Jaimee at the front desk was very helpful finding a vacancy at the last minute due to a cancellation. This resulted in an excellent experience staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
To Our East Coast Bound Traveler:

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive experience at our beautiful Crowne Plaza oin the Marina. I too love traveling and staying at places on the water and the marina view is definitely gorgeous on nice sunny days! I hope that if you are ever back here in the Hampton area that you will visit with us again!

Safe travels as you continue on your east coast journey!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My son and daughter-inlaw were married there. The wedding was catered and decorated by the hotel. A the mother of the groom i had chance to stay in Plaza Suite which is the largest suite in the hotel. The hotel staff were exceptional. Ms. jamie House stayed in touch with me to assist me every need. What a sweet heart. Mr. Richard Martin was very cool and hospitable.
He made me feel at ease about my stay there. Thanks also to Ms. Cheesman for staying back late on Friday to accomodate me with the suite. Thank you desk clerks for your personal touch.
Ms. Marilyn Jones

Room Tip: The rooms were very elegent, clean and nice decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigijones753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Ms. Jones,

Thank you so much for posting such a great review about your experience at our hotel. Your kind words about the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated! My staff commented to me about how much they enjoyed hosting your family and friends. Please keep us in mind for your next event that may be in the Hampton area. I wish your son and daughter -in-law a wonderful and happy marriage!

Warmest Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I attended a reunion hosted by the hotel, and we totally enjoyed the stay. The catered food was very good and never-ending, and they were accommodating of our hospitality suite and meetings that ran over in the conference center.

The room was very nice and the bathroom was slightly dated but still above average amenities all the way around. The hotel is right next door to both the Virginia Air and Space Museum - surprisingly good given the smaller market (but there are lots of military in the area) - and right across the street from a renovated downtown area of shops and restaurants.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pay the 20% premium for a marina view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C and K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear C & K:

I am very happy to hear that you will be back! It sounds like you were extremely pleased with your stay and event with us here at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina! Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious comments with us. My staff and I strive on a daily basis to meet or exceed the guests expectations and I am glad we succeeded during your stay.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Crown Plaza in Hampton,VA many times and it is always a quiet and relaxing stay with pleasant accommodations and a friendly staff. Each time I find myself in Hampton,VA I always know I'll find a warm welcome at the check in desk and a quiet room to rest up. When I unwind at Latitudes (their lobby bar) Amy, the bartender, will always have my gin & tonic ready for me, and that kind of personal service is why I keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Ivan:

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina. I am glad that you choose to stay with us often. It sounds like we have succeeded at being your home away from home and we are truly grateful your loyalty.

I hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Love the bar atmosphere and it is one of my favorite bars to frequent. The service is always good (Thanks Laura) and it is always clean and welcoming. I've stayed in the hotel about a year ago and found the rooms lacking in some of the details (torn carpet) for the price, but overall found the accommodations adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank for being such a loyal guest of our Latitudes Lounge. Laura is definitely a strong team player for us and your kind words are much appreciated. Our staff genuinely enjoys having their names mentioned and recognized on trip advisor, so thank you for taking the time to post your comment.

I hope you have time to come a visit us (Laura) again!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina

Property: Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Address: 700 Settlers Landing, Hampton, VA 23669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between renowned Hampton University and the celebrated Virginia Air & Space Museum, our lodging is the only waterfront hotel in Hampton, VA. Our newly renovated guest rooms provide floor to ceiling views of downtown Hampton or the Hampton River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel Hampton
Hampton Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing