We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will NEVER book at a Days Inn” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Hampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Hampton
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Will NEVER book at a Days Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

I'll start with the positive first. The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is the person that checked us in was very kind and went over and above to right the company's error in booking. We booked a King bed, but when we arrived were told they only offered Double beds. Imagine our eyes and frustration traveling with our little girl. The sad thing is that the only person to apologize was the new guy who just started working there the day we checked in. My husband asked if they had any suites or anything that may have a Queen bed and possibly a cot, and the manager said no larger beds, they had a cot but it would be $10. YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME. So, nevertheless, we are definately going to complain regardless of the fact that these hotels are individually owned.
It was very hot when we arrived, our room was on the 3rd floor and the key did not work so we went back down to the desk and they had to switch us to another room telling us the 2nd bed "looked" bigger than the one in the original room. Not sure what that meant. You cannot shut the bathroom door without stepping almost into the tub first so it it very tiny. There was some type of dried fluid on the walls, look like dried blood/mucus, whatever it was looked NASTY.
The next morning went down to the breakfast where the continental breakfast police woman stood right beside me staring at me while I made my waffle. When I asked her what the problem was, she said "you sit here and eat, you can't take any food to your room." Now, this is without any prior conversation with her about taking any food anywhere. Made me a little eerie, so I decided to buck the system and not eat there. Who wants to eat breakfast with a crazy woman staring at you and YES, I took my waffle with me. At that point, I dared anyone to say anything else to me. All she did was look at me with that crazy look that she started out with.
This hotel has people that live here--as in this is their home and they do not appear to be professionals. I would definately not have felt comfortable if my husband were not traveling with me. So, if you decide to bite the bullet, please be careful.
We booked a really nice room right across the road at the Courtyard Marriott (nice pool, whirlpool, cookies and a smile upon check in).
In closing, Days Inn used to be a place I could depend on for a decent clean room at a good value. I understand you get what you pay for, but I didn't even get that here which is why we've completed erased this hotel chain from our list of options going forward.

  • Liked — The customer service skills of the person that originally checked us in.
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jewcpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    100
    141
    122
    158
See reviews for
232
87
62
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

This is one of the few motels in Hampton that has a pool and is under $100 on a weekend during the busy summer months. You can negotiate a weekly rate if there isn't a special event going on. During the week there were construction crews staying at the motel, but they were quiet. I was awakened several mornings before sunrise by a truck emptying garbage dumpsters. The operator seemed to make as much noise as possible.The woman who tends the breakfast area seems to be there more to enforce strict rules, than to provide assistance or refill food. The staff was not overly friendly. The safe in my room was broken and at checkout I asked for a refund of the daily charge for that.
The clerk reviewed my account and I was undercharged two nights, as a concession for the safe, he left my account as it was. I came out ahead.

  • Liked — Price and has nice pool
  • Disliked — emptying dumpsters outside my room before sunrise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steelmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Do not expect too much of this motel. Be prepared for a major headache upon arrival, as you will not be able to open the room doors - guaranteed! In fact, their lock system is so broken that they need to send up a maintenance person whenever someone checks in... The matresses were cheap, the beds squeaky, and the shower tub has seen better days. It was ok for a one-night stay, but I would not recommend this place for anything more than that.

  • Liked — Free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Quality of room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cowlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

This hotel is the WORST hotel I have EVER stayed in. It is FILTHY, it seems to be located next to the projects and there was pretty much nothing available for the breakfast. Do not stay here, it is awful.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Neighborhood
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dupont_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

My family and I enjoyed our stay at Days Inn Hampton. The front desk staff were very nice and atentive to my requests. The entire staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Both of our rooms were clean and the showers hot. The continental breakfast was outstanding. My children enjoyed the fresh hot waffles. We will definetly stay at this above average Days Inn when we return to this location.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — exterior property
  • Tips/Secrets — make reservation
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kbkc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2006

Days Inn in Hampton, VA, at first glance, was an expensive hotel. Water fountains in the lobby, a meeting room, breakfast room, the people at the frontdesk were friendly and cheerfull. The outside of the property was beautifully landscaped and clean. The rooms were clean and spacious, and included a micro-fridge, (which can really cut back on going out to eat). The housekeepers come every morning to clean your room, and they are courteous, giving you towels, soap, whatever you want. You can really have a $100. stay for under $100. here. The location is convenient to food, shopping and entertainment, but is a quiet and peacefull stay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and free breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutledge05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

Please don't stay here unless you want your car towed!

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. Even though we had a permit pass in the dash of our vehicle and submitted our plate number with the motel registration. We returned late one evening to find my friends car gone! Days Inn towed our vehicle and the front desk offered no help in finding the vehicle. We were paying customers! We had to take a cab into a dark scetchy area of town to retrieve it. The cab driver refused to leave us there alone. We spent $175 to get our car back, and didn't return to the hotel until 3 am. Days Inn refused to compensate us for the towing costs or for any of our troubles.

Also, showers were cold, and we had constant trouble with the door locks.

After this experience, I avoid Days Inn at all cost.

  • Liked — Days Inn Hampton is in close proximity to Hamptom Coliseum.
  • Disliked — Days Inn Hampton has the worst customer service that I have ever delt with.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay at Days Inn Hampton. They'll try to scam you!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hampton
Red Roof Inn Hampton
#14 of 26 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hampton - Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
1.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hampton

Property: Days Inn Hampton
Address: 1918 Coliseum Dr, Hampton, VA 23666-4235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hampton 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Days Inn Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
Hampton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing