We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean Rooms”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The rooms were quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable. At the price I paid, that is the main thing I ask for in a hotel. As mentioned by others, the elevators were kind of scary. The breakfast was so bad, we opted to eat elsewhere on the second day. The inside pool was good for kids to splash around in, but little else. The exercise room was nice. The common areas were overrun with kids and teens in pjs. It is a great location for coliseum or convention center events. While the staff was friendly, they couldn't give a good answer to the question "are there interesting or unique things we should visit in the area?"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your accommodations. The areas you addressed that were a concern will be reviewed and the necessary adjustments will be made. We did have several large groups scheduled during the time of your stay and we do apologize for any disruptions you encountered. Your guest experience is equally as important to us as and we appreciate your comments. It is our goal to always try and meet the needs of our guests and we extend an invitation for you to visit with us again so that we can improve your next guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
31
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel proved to be a little gem. The staff and rooms were great but agree with a previous comment regarding the lifts. They are old and the doors close quickly. The AC was of the older type and therefore very noisy indeed. Had to shut it off during the night and so the room became too warm. Good pool and facilities. Breakfast excellent, clean area and constantly restocked.
Great one nighter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianandlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your accommodations. The areas you addressed that were a concern will be reviewed and the necessary adjustments will be made. It is our goal to always try and met the needs of our guests and we extend an invitation for you to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel itself is still a mix of old and renovated portions, you can tell. The elevators are old with some new wood paneling inside (they're kinda scary, too, bouncing and doors closing fast, etc). But the friendliness of the staff makes up for any problems here! The breakfast is nice and ample, the standard of all HIE's everywhere. The room is very comfortable and clean, as is the rest of the facility... very clean. This is a great place to stay if you need to stay near the Coliseum or across from a great shopping area! We will stay here again, I'm sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy that you found your accommodations comfortable and that the location suited your needs. We are addresing all of your concerns and assure you that the necessary corrections will be made. We value all of your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and is very close to the Peninsular Town Center, entrance to 64 and the Coliseum. The free hot bar breakfast was a filling, clean and nicely stocked. (Sausage, eggs, pancakes). The decor and furniture made the room feel warm and inviting. It has armoires and a faux wood, storage shelf in the bathroom. Although I would definetly stay here again there were some things I did not care for. The maid service appeared to be quite unrefined, they could fequently be heard yelling direction to each other up and down the hall around 4:30 in the afternoon. I was directly above the dryer so the buzzing from the dryer was maddening. (Rm 205). The hotel after hours (2 - 3 am) appeared to be a lounge area for friends of the night clerks, friends were sprawled out on the furniture, on the computers or were the ones watching the lobby while the clerks were out of sight, in the room behind the counter. If you are coming for business, the rooms are not equipped with a large working area. Pool size and shape is laughable, cannot even get two strokes in before hitting the wall.

Room Tip: Do not get 205 or 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your accommodations and that our location and breakfast met your expectations. We truly apologize for the behavioral concerns that you indicated you encountered during your visit. We require a professional and pleasant demeanor from all associates as well as our guests and we apologize again that we did not deliver this to you. Your feedback allows us the opportunity to make the necessary adjustments to ensure you have the experience that you deserve. We extend an invitation for you to visit us again so that we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

i made a reservation for 2 rooms after describing exactly what is needed --the 2 rooms i wanted--i needed to be able to care for disabled seniors --i was very descriptive and was told " yes", there would be the accomodations for our needs---we arrived and were told that " no " there are no handicap rooms available and further the second room,my room, would even be on a different floor
we had stayed at this property several times before it became the holiday inn---it was a pleasure at that time and that staff was absolutely terrific---NOW THERE IS NO CONSIDERATION FOR THE ELDERLY OR DISABLED---ALLOWING THEM TO GO OUT OF THERE WAY FOR EMPTY PROMISES

Room Tip: your reservation is not as promised at this holiday inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHANNA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We do truly apologize for the confusion you experienced with your reservations. We will be sending you a separate email in efforts to research the details of your unfortunate experience. We truly want you to know that we do care about your total guest satisfaction. Our commitment to you is our outmost goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We experienced excellent service and hospitality. I and my family are very pleased. Beautiful, clean room, very modern, and nice to look at, elegant and luxureous. Breakfast was phenomenal. Every request was met with courtousy and politeness by all the staff, from the front office, to the maintenance staff aswell as kitchen personnel, everyone! My 2 yr. old son ran out of the room, when we weren't looking, and one of the staff was nice enough to bring him back to the room, I was elated! I would suggest or advise anyone traveling in this beautiful VA. Beach/chesapeake bay region, to stay at this great hotel, hands down!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 575williamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your accommodations. It is our goal to always try and met the needs of our guests and we thank you for allowing us to do that for you. We hope that your stay was memorable and we extend an invitation for you to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After having another local hotel let us down with rude customer service we left & had no where to stay .that was when we seen the holiday inn & walking in we were treated wonderful the hotel is amazing!it's beautiful very clean & they think of everything !we had a indoor pool,a gym ,free wi-fi ,a very nice lounge,morning newspapers ,& for the coffee lover like me gourmet coffee all day long & I could go on all day, but this is the place to stAy!Thank you to the staff !You are all doing a wonderful job ! Keep it up because we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy that you found your accommodations comfortable and that the location suited your needs. We are extremely happy that we were able to make your stay memorable after your first experience in our city. We truly want you to know that we value you as our guest and when in the area again, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hampton Coliseum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Address: 1813 W Mercury Blvd, Hampton, VA 23666-3205 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hampton
Quality Inn Hampton
Hampton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing