We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff - under-rated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding staff - under-rated hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just spent a Sat night there for a sports event with daughter - very pleased - will come again. Bargain half rates for this quality (3 - 3 1/2 star). Older reviews probably posted before they renovated.

The good: next to shopping mall just off the highway, all the usual amenities, very comfy Hilton quality beds, medium sized room (not crowded - 2 doubles, refrig/closet, desk, flat screen tv on chest), good hot buffet breakfast (including pancakes, eggs, chipped sausage, breads, and more), all the staff are friendly and said hello (first time in 10 years and hundreds of hotel!), front desk was efficient and knowledgeable, everything was very clean - renovated new - furniture, fixtures, baths, tv, locks, etc, except literally only the carpets.
The bad: scruffy worn or bare old carpet in halls and rooms, elevator - theres only 2 - one is slow to open the other closes too fast, painted doors look like they are from a warehouse-rest of elevator looked newly renovated. 1 side of hotel faces a demolition site, others face the mall or other hotels. Fan in a/c unit is loud but its constant so can be ignored, unless you are watching the tv. Very few guests (other hotels in area were packed) and some of them look like they just came off a Greyhound. I didnt try the small pool or the 2 pc biz center.

Room Tip: Top floors quietest (get the side facing the mall or Mercury to get sun and view, avoid the side wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    68
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
32
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, NC
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived in Hampton for the Strong Man Competition, the first night was booked at the Red Roof Inn because competitors had a discount. It was horrible! The next morning, I stopped at the Holiday Inn Express to see if there was anything available for Saturday nite. When I explained all the reasons I needed to get out of the other place, Sharon allowed me to go ahead and check in EARLY morning, before the events started, so I could go ahead and get out of the other place. The hotel was SOOOOO clean! Everything was great! Breakfast Sunday morning was fantastic! Sharon was so happy to help make our trip a success! Changing hotels allowed me to be able to enjoy the competition we went to see. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was in town for a volleyball tournament. After many hours of hectic traveling in a snow storm, the front desk staff were very welcoming and accomodating. The room was very clean and the mattress was very comfortable. The Heating / AC unit was a little outdated, with a manual thermostat, thus the unit cycled on and off quite frequently, however the room maintained a constant temperature. Upon various requests, for extra towels, etc., the hotel staff were very prompt and couteous. The hotel location was excellent for the venue taking place at the Convention Center, and I would stay at this location again for further events.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

In town for a volleyball tournament. The entire staff was wonderful. From the front desk manager who was awesome, to staff taking care of our breakfast needs. It as A great stay! We will book our stay again here next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have to travel to the Hampton, VA area on an at least monthly basis and was trying to find something close, safe and comfortable-- Well! I found it! The staff is incredibly helpful and courteous. The rooms are newly remodeled and the hotel is very well kept. I feel "at home" during my travels. The hotel offers a breakfast in the mornings (I normally leave prior to breakfast, so I don't partake often) but they offer coffees, cereals, yogurt and other hot items.

The staff really make the difference and it's really amazing that they remember me upon checking in & out! Kudos to them for being so fantastic and customer service oriented!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I unintentionally arrived without my Amex. We had to go through a whole routine with Amex, involving eventually two phone lines and the fax machine in operation all at the same time! The desk staff was patient, courteous and professional throughout the whole "hostage" situation.

The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing I missed was the USA network on cable, which is my go-to station to put on low volume and sleep to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on more than one occasion and have always had a great experience. The rooms are clean and updated. One person stands out particularly for great customer service, Darrel Paige. He went above and beyond to make sure my experience with the hotel was positive and I truly appreciate that. Anyone considering staying at this particular hotel should feel confident in selecting it as a destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hampton Coliseum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Address: 1813 W Mercury Blvd, Hampton, VA 23666-3205 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Hampton
Quality Inn Hampton
Hampton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing