We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD place, GREAT staff"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I been here when it was La Quinta and the staff was horrible, the rooms were nasty, but the new owers have turned it around for the best, housekeeping is on top of it, and the front desks workers are so kind and helpful, way'd it do a great 180 turn on making it a nice place once again! I will for sure be coming back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to do your review. We have alot of nice plans for the up coming remodeling. We have started the painting and a few little other upgrades.We do try to keep our guest happy,we are a family runned hotel and want each and everyone of guest to be part of our family. Thank you so much for your input and wonderful review. We look forward in meeting all your needs in the furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

it was my first time at the hotel in Hampton and I was really please with the services of the staff at this hotel , they made me feel like home and I was glad to stay here, I will stay at this hotel as long as I come to Hampton ,va

Room Tip: room near the office
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.Its always nice to hear the good things .our staff works very hard trying to keep the hotel up to our guest standards. We look forward to serving you in the furture

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I don't say this often, but I had an amazing experience during my stay. The facilities were top notch, it was very hygienic and up to date. The staff was extremely friendly and personable. They went out their way to make sure I had everything during my stay. Overall the place is very affordable and the service offered put many expensive hotels to shame. Usually in my experience either the hotel facilities aren't good enough or the staff is not very amicable, but this is one the rare places with great facilities and a customer friendly staff. Moreover, the breakfast food is delicious, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are well stocked and clean. The staff was also very knowledgeable and helpful as far as local attractions and things to do were concerned. I would definitely stay here again and would also recommend anyone who needs accommodation in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Operations Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

I would like to take this time to Thank you for writing such a nice review. We here at the Ambassador Inn & Suites try our best to please and make our guest happy. We are worknig on some remodeling and do hope you do come during and after the remodeling is done to see the changes we have made. Our goal is to make this hotel a warm friendly family feeling hotel for all to come and enjoy. Thank you Karen Bernier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful.Rooms are a good size and everything was well maintained. They are also pet friendly which is a huge plus. Very affordable as well. I would recommend this for anybody staying in the area whether it be business or personal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

I just wanted to the time to thank you for your review,as you know the hotel is under going alot of remodeling. We are pleased to here that your stay here was wonderful. And we look forward to your next visit and making it as comfortable as this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Perfect and affordable! I've driven and flown across the U.S., along the Eastern Seaboard and Pacific Coast many times for thirty years and stayed at countless hotels, motels, lodges, and inns. This is,overall,the best. They're just off 64 and located across the street from several restaurants. Under brand new management and you can already seem them busy with upgrades. The room was clean and comfortable. I brought my two LARGE dogs since they have the lowest pet price I've seen at any hotel/motel. Customer service there was excellent, maybe the best I've ever experienced! Karen, the manager, was efficient, friendly, and professional. While eating the simple but filling continental breakfast, I witnessed her diffuse several delicate situations and calm difficult guests. I checked in for my 4 night stay at 2am on Friday morning, the front desk attendant, Gayla, had a smile on her face and kindness in her voice. That went a very long way with me after my 10 hour rain-filled drive there. Housekeeping and Maintenance was polite and and thorough. Upon checkout I had the opportunity to meet the manager, who is friendly and genuine. I recognized him as the man I'd seen picking up litter around the property. I will, without a doubt, ALWAYS stay at this Ambassador whenever in Hampton Roads.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review,our staff is extremely grateful. Its always a pleasure to here when guest are pleased.The staff works very hard to meet all guest needs. We are under going remodeling and do hope you come to vist when it is completed to see the up grades done. Let us know upon checking in on your next visit so i may personally thank you. Once again thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been staying here for yrs.I was seeking other options when i come into town on business because the Laquinta was going down hill. My last visit was recently and new ownership has taken over.Lets just say i will be staying right here,the rooms are so much cleaner,smell alot better as well.And the new manager Karen is out of this world you always here they broke the mold when they made you.Well in this case its The truth,I do alot of traveling and i have never met a manager that does what she does,from checking in to fixing a running toilet. She is very concerned about her guest and there needs,takes time to stop and check in on you,tell you a few jokes has you laughing the entire stay eveytime you see you. Karen you are the best . see you next wk. And ramon who i have know since ive been coming here is still doing a great job.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinglife4real860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

I just want to take the time to tell you,that we appericate you giving us the opportunity to take care of all your needs during your stay.And to thank you for the taking the time to do write a review.As you know we are making changes to the hotel to meet our guest needs. And your input is deeply appericated now and in the furture. Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Day time front desk was so friendly and helpful,the gentleman, n the lady i believe is the manager work well together and have you laughing the entire time you are checking. It was just me and my husband manager gave us a free upgrade to suite. it was very nice of her to do and the suite was so big clean and beautiful. very peaceful considering there was a concert in town but the location we where located at in the hotel there where no concert people in that area. thank you for that

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x2comup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swati b, Manager at Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for the wonderful review. We look forward to meeting all your needs in the future. Im glad that you found eveything to your liking and with the up coming remodeling it will leave with warm fuzzy thoughts .Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hampton
Red Roof Inn Hampton
#13 of 26 in Hampton
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hampton - Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hampton Coliseum Inn
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn & Suites

Address: 2138 W Mercury Blvd, Hampton, VA 23666-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range: $52 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Hampton Hotel Hampton
La Quinta Hotel Hampton
La Quinta Hampton
Hampton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing