We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for kids!”

Virginia Air & Space Center
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aerospace museum that holds more than 100 exhibits, including the Apollo 12 command module and several IMAX films.
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for kids!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stopped here on our way from Virginia Beach back to our hotel in Williamsburg. There are a lot of interactive exhibits and an actual airplane that my 5 year old enjoyed flying. It's a great place for kids and also a great place to escape from the heat. Both of my kids also enjoyed the carousel across the street. We will be back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    109
    42
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“M”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Cost is a little high if it is a big family. A kid touchy place and great IMAX

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Name does not M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SPACE, WV HAVE BEEN THERE AND BACK”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The place is very interesting and educational Much better than reading about air and space Live displays from real life. A must see

Helpful?
Thank CHARLES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Air & Space a good place to hang out, learn something”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Virginia Air & Space has a number of hands-on displays, limited time displays, and a strong collection that continues to add items over time. If you love space or military aircraft, this is the place for you. They also have an IMAX theater. Only problem I have had is that sometimes parents assume the adults don't want to take part in activities and cut their kids in front of you. A few times automated displays have been out-of-order but users can be rough. It is really a good museum to visit with people of any age.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
320 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Better than Smithsonian”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I visited the Smithsonian and the additional air wing where the shuttle is and I liked this museum better. It has tons for kids to do and look at. Not all the exhibits were working but there were hands on things to do and cool exhibit of the space station. You can make paper airplanes to through, try and land plans, take a ride in a flight simulator, and see a piece of Mars. I spent three hours there and still felt I could go back. It was cool. So is the Smithsonian, I am a teacher and felt this had more interaction for students of all ages.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Air & Space Center also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Air & Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing