We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Every aspect of our hotel stay was wonderful, and in addition, the value for the price was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and very attractive, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you do so again if you have future lodging needs in the Gretna area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. It is located in a very rural setting, but has an Italian Restaurant right across the street. The staff here is knowledgeable about the area and will help you find any local businesses and services you may need. I was working during the night and housekeeping worked around my schedule to make sure my room was both clean and comfortable. My room had a shower, but no tub which was not a problem for me, but I’m sure they have rooms with tubs available (you may want to check). The rooms don’t have the mini refrigerators and microwaves I have found in other Hampton Hotels, but I was told they have a limited number of portable fridges that are available upon request. The pool is outdoors which would be a challenge during the fall and winter and no hot tub or whirlpool is available. The fitness center is actually very good given the size of this hotel. I was really surprised how busy this business was given its location between Danville and Lynchburg. I would recommend this property to anyone traveling through this area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the hotel. The back faces a highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We truly value your opinions of our hotel and appreciate the compliments on our hotel staff. We strive to make each guest experience special and are happy to know that yours was! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had to book this hotel as I dragged my feet booking to take my son to Liberty. It is not a close drive (45 minutes), but it is a straight shot and very affordable for a great nights stay. Front desk staff was very friendly and room was always well cleaned and smelled fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make each guest that comes through our doors stay the best that it possibly can be and it makes us very happy to know that this has been achieved! We hope to have you stay with us again if ever in the Gretna area with lodging needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

for a small rural area i think this is a great hotel, there were some issues but nothings perfect...i dont think this is a top notch hampton, but the people are friendly, and thats what makes up for any lack...it is clean so i guess it could be worse.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate the kind compliments towards our staff and I can assure you that all reviews are shared with them. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome and "at home" during their stay and hope to have you return if ever in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms have always been clean. I enjoy the mini store they have if I, or the wife ever want a late night snack. The fitness room is great and so is the pool. It is real close to where my wife's family lives as well so this is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very happy to know that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to having you do so again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel was right off the highway, had a friendly staff, and check-in/out was quick and easy. My room (501) was very quiet and had a comfortable bed. The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of foods and ample seating. The only improvement I'd suggest is their having more than one waffle maker. If I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We greatly appreciate you compliments and are very happy to know that you will be returning to stay with us if you have future lodging needs in the area! Guest satisfaction is definitely a top priority here at our establishment and it makes us very happy to know that this has been met. Our Cloud 9 bedding is one of our most favored ammenities that the Hampton brand has to offer and we're glad that you enjoyed it. Our deluxe breakfast is also another favorite and understandably so with 80+ items each morning; what's not to love?! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were looking for a brand name hotel at or near Smith Mountain Lake. Unfortunately there are no brand name hotels other than this one which is way too far from where we needed to be. So we commuted back and forth 50 miles. The hotel is clean and sufficient, has a nice, homey lobby/breakfast area, but the food was lacking somewhat. I would not recommend it if you are looking for close proximity to the lake. Otherwise it is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 864eddac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Although you had quite the drive to go to the lake, we are very happy to have had you stay with us and are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the breakfast here and I will be sure to let management know as guest feedback and suggestions are very important to us. Ifyou have future lodging needs in the Gretna area, we hope to be considered a choice hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
204 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $92 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing