We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We chose the Hampton Inn in Gretna mainly because of the great price and location. We were attending our daughter's graduation in Lynchburg and the prices of the local Lynchburg hotels were two to three times what we payed! We were more than pleased with everything!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

We greatly appreciate your kind words. Guest satisfaction is a top priority here at our hotel and it makes us very happy to know that this has been met. Thank you for staying with us and if ever in the area again and are in need of lodging, we hope to see have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Gretna Hampton Inn was only a short drive from the Liberty University Graduation festivities over this past weekend! It was very clean and the staff was nice, and accommodated every request we had. The only disappointment was that the pool was closed, only because it was outside. And they hadn't opened it yet! We will consider staying here again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us positive feedback! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay and very glad to know that you will be staying with us again if you ever have lodging needs in the area in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Arrived at 2340, w/o a reservation, fortunately there was a vacancy and the hostess provided a speedy check-in, our complements to her. Processed us quickly. Room and bathroom were clean and neat. Easy check out the following morning and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We thank you for staying with us and hope for you return if you have lodging needs in the area in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Welcoming, clean, quite and a great place to stay in Gretna/Chatham area in VA. The hotel came across as a brand new facility and I came to find out later that it was a few years old. The hotel color schemes, lobby, rooms, decor, staff, complimentary breakfast and everthing else were top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank samp364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

We really appreciate your review and ratings for our property. So happy you chose to stay with us and we hope to see you again when you come to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Gretna for a week long business trip to Rustburg. Just the basics: - Check in/out was easy and fast - Room had not been vacuumed the entire stay - Several bugs were found crawling on my ceiling and floor. Behind the curtains and under furniture I found piles of dead bugs. - Checked out early and moved to Hilton Garden Inn in Lynchburg - Fruit at breakfast had clearly been there for over a week and wasn't fresh - No bacon the entire week. Stay away...far away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We apologize for any inconveniences that may have caused you to be displeased with your stay. We do have an issue with stink bugs in our area. They were released here to try and control the lady bug over abundance that our town had and now they have become quite the nuisance. We have pest control come in, as well as taking measures to have housekeeping remove them personally, however, beings that we have an over population in the area, they do mangage to find their way back in whether it be through the doorways, vents, guest luggage, etc. While we do agree they are a bit of a hassle, I can assure you that we are taking every step that we can to address this issue.

As far as the breakfast issue, we do apologize if you felt that it wasn't satifactory, however, our fresh fruit is a brand standard that is discarded each day once breakfast is over and new is put out each morning. We do serve bacon each week, however it may have been the case that it wasn't served during your stay.

We hope that this hasn't given you a negative opinion of our establishment and as a Hilton Honors member, we do hope that you will continue to stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Been a guest numerous times always feel like family more than a guest. Brook at the front desk was very knowledgeable of the area and genuinely concerned with the quality of our stay. Recommended a great place to eat right down the road very convenient. Will return again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you was satisfied with your stay. Guest satisfaction has always been a top priority at our establishment and it makes us very happy to know that this has been exceeded! We love that we are considered to be a choice hotel for you in this area and anxiously await your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The staff are absolutely fantastic from top to bottom. I always enjoy staying here. The only problem I noticed on this trip was that the Bed Coverlets need to be replaced. It looks like everytime they washed the duvet cover that they also washed the blanket inside. All of the cotton batting is just balled up in the 4x4 quilted square. Everything else was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsey_meadows, Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to your return! We do apologize for the inconvenience that occured with your bedding. As you know, items in a hotel do get worn with time and we can guarantee you that we are in the process of replacing our duvets to keep that Cloud 9 bedding in tip-top shape! We are happy to know that you stay with our brand in your travels and hope that you continue to do so! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
202 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.6 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
291 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#9 of 11 in Danville
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Location: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing