We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hot breakfast the next morning was excellent. The staff was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The workstation in the room was also great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are so glad that you were satisfied with your stay and hope to see you again if ever the need of lodging for you is in our area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was pleased with the hotel. I can be hard to find a nice place to stay in a small town, but I will definitely stay here again. The room was very fresh, and the staff was very friendly. There aren't a lot of options in the area, and I do think this is the best one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your place of lodging. We are very pleased to know that you were impressed with your stay and hope that you will choose our hotel again if ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel with friendly, efficient, helpful staff; clean and modern. From the desk clerks to the breakfast room host - everything was perfect. We would definitely stay at this facility again. This was our first stay at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are thrilled to know that you'd stay with us again if ever back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel with clean spacious rooms. Good Breakfast also. A little pricey though. Hotel staff are very accomodating and always friendly. Parking is easy and free. Only negative is that the walls are a little thin, and it is easy to hear guest in the next rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Brandon A, thank you for choosing our hotel as your place of lodging! We hope that we will have the chance to be of service to you if you're ever in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice location, friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms is what makes this hotel a nice stop just off US 29. This is great for a nice rest or if one is planning a vacation trip to Smith Mountain Lake. It is convenient to Lynchburg and Danville. The breakfast is typical of Hampton Inn. Nice friendly staff and good southern hospitality. I recommend a stay at this property.

Room Tip: No favorites all location are good, no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel88hrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you very much for kind words! We greatly appreciate them and hope that you will choose our hotel for your lodging needs if you're ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel was clean and staff was excellent. Continental breakfast was on point. Not all rooms had microwave and refrigerator. Our neighbors had an argument and it sounded like they were in our room. Once they stopped, the night was quiet! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Marie T,

Thank you for your review on our hotel! It is greatly appreciated!!! We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, that's just one of the many ammenities that go along with the brand name! We do apologize for the noise factor, sometimes these things happen, but when made aware of a situtation of this, we do strive to do everything that we can to make better arrangements for our guests. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arrival experience at reception was very quick and efficient. The booking was made on the internet and reception had our key ready and waiting, so we only had to sign in and we were off to our room. The room had all the normal facilities, TV, Internet cable connection etc and wireless internet was available by using our name and room number. We were advised of the wireless internet service at check-in but we were not sure if it would cost extra. We did not think of this until we were in the room, often wireless connection is at an additional charge in other hotels. The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was more than we expected and we were quite happy to serve ourselves. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit, breads, waffles etc and it was included in the room price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janw43, General Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about our property. We do offer a list of amendities featuring free WiFi, an outdoor pool, hot and cold deluxe breakfast, business center, and a fitness center. We look forward to having you return to our property in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
202 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.6 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
291 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#9 of 11 in Danville
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Location: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing