We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to. Just off the highway. Very Nice rooms, and an excellent breakfast.”
Review of Camber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camber Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
1 review
“Easy to get to. Just off the highway. Very Nice rooms, and an excellent breakfast.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the best Hampton Inns I have stayed in. Clean room. I was there for an agility trial with my dog. The dogwalk area was large and clean. Very close to a grocery store and restaurants. It was very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janw43, Front Office Manager at Camber Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for our property. As a valued customer, we appreciate your response. We strive to make sure that you and your pets only recieve the best not only while you are here, but before your stay and after as well. Our location makes for a quiet stay and we are so glad that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    59
    16
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
34
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room was clean, but the sink in the bathroom, which was inside a console table on very high legs, was way too high for me to reach. I had to stand on my tiptoes to brush my teeth...I am only about 5'4". Also, the day I was to check out, I unrolled a clean towel in the bathroom (never had touched it before) to find a clump of someone else's hair in it. I took it downstairs in a towel to show the desk clerk when I checked out and they said they'd tell the manager about it. He was going to throw it in the garbage, and I said, "Why not get a baggie and put it in there so the manager can actually SEE it?". They looked at each other and she said "Put it in an envelope", so they did that and then labelled the envelope.

While this might have been an isolated occurrence, I have stayed in MANY hotels over the years and have never ONCE had anything like this happen to me before. I would not recommend staying here and never plan to return to this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Janice T,

We appreciate your review for our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our top priority here at our location and we are truly sorry for any inconveniences that occured during your stay. Your are absolutely correct, things like this should not happen and the situation was addressed in all departed that this was linked to. Once again we are truly sorry for what happened during your stay, but as said before we do our best and we hope if you're ever back in our area, you'll give us the chance to show you what our hotel really can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly. We arrived late at night and to no fault of the front desk staff we had a bit of a wait as the area had experienced an ice storm and an electrical crew was checking in late ahead of us. So kudos for this and handling so many so efficiently.

The maids service doesn't cut it when the room is noticeably dusty and the bathroom fixtures are not clean. The beds were awful to sleep on and even with the room temperature set to 60 degrees the room was hot most of the night (2nd floor). The business center computer lacked attention and was out-of-service especially when I needed it. So I resorted to my iPhone WiFi and the hotel WiFi was up and down several times. This tells me either they are cheap or using unqualified people to support what little IT infrastructure they have-- router, bandwidth, access point(s), computer and printer in business center.

The rate per night just too high to warrant staying again --- our business was at Smith Mountain Lake and I decided to be a "loyal customer" and stay further away. My mistake won't be repeated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for our property. As a valued customer, we appreciate your response. I apologize that your stay wasn't as you expected. We strive to make sure our hotel is clean and ready for your stay and if your room was not up to standards, as said before, we do apologize deeply. We have brand standards that require us to use certain bedding, internet, etc as well as what our rates are, however we are sorry if any of this was of inconvenience to you. Thank you for the compliment that was paid to our front desk staff. They are a hard working crew and their only concern is making guest happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My experience with this hotel was very positive. The room amd public areas are attractive and comfortable. I found the front desk staff to be extremely accommodating. I was staying in Gretna the night before my mother's funeral the following day in Chatham. I requested a late check-out because the service did not start until 2:00 pm and I needed a place to meet arriving family beforehand. My request was graciously granted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 167Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are glad that we were able to assist you with your needs as you needed a late check out. After all, your comfort and happiness is our main concern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel more than 15 times in the last 3 years. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The beds sleep well!

The family always enjoys our stay. The hotel is quiet and the staff is very attentive to requests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseym10, Director of Sales at Camber Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! At our property, we strive to make sure that you only recieve the best not only while you are here, but before your stay and after as well. Our location makes for a quiet stay and we are so glad that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden, maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Terrific facility with great staff makes for an enjoyable family visit. Not enough room at the in-laws
But it all works out at this Hampton Inn. Nothing fancy, just clean rooms and decent breakfast.
Work out room was nice. Overall, it's a home run.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were visiting Liberty University and needed a pet friendly hotel. Location is about 20-25 minutes from the campus but it is right off the interstate and very very quiet. I had to leave my pup in the room and felt comfortable doing so. As usual, nice and clean, comfy, and safe. Plus no pet fee! We would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamacintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Alta Vista
Days Inn Alta Vista
#1 of 2 in Altavista
190 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Suites Altavista - Lynchburg South
24.7 mi away
Courtyard Danville
Courtyard Danville
#5 of 11 in Danville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#2 of 11 in Danville
281 reviews
22.9 mi away
Innkeeper Danville North
Innkeeper Danville North
#8 of 11 in Danville
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gretna Motel
Gretna Motel
#2 of 2 in Gretna
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camber Inn

Property: Camber Inn
Address: 200 McBride Ln, Gretna, VA 24557-2736 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gretna Altavista Chatham)
Location: United States > Virginia > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next get away or business meeting at the Hampton Inn Gretna/Altavista/Chatham. This modern, new facility is located in the heart of scenic South Central VA and serves the communities of Gretna, Altavista and Chatham. We are also only a short distance from Danville, Lynchburg, Roanoke and Bedford, VA. The area offers historical sites such as the Appomattox Court House, National D-day Memorial, Booker T. Washington Memorial and Yeatts Tavern. Other places of interest include Hargrave Military Academy, Chatham Hall, Liberty University, Tomahawk Mill Winery and the Olde Dominion Agriculture Complex. Of course, a trip to our area would not be complete without a visit to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We welcome you to come experience all that the area has to offer and look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gretna / Altavista / Chatham Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing