We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French Cuisine”

LAuberge Chez Francois
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent French Cuisine”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am from Montreal, Quebec. I so miss French food. That was until we found Auberge Chez Francois. While a bit pricey, the meal was worth every penny & more. We plan to go back for special occasions. We also plan to try his bistro. The only problem is we enjoy the food so much it is then hard to make the 2 hour drive home. This is true French cooking with a modern twist. It is as good or better than I have had in Paris, France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    77
    35
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
842 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Exquisite cuisine in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It looked to me a favorite place for special celebrations. And it is... Definitely not a cheap place but definitely haut cuisine, as the French people say. I would recommend some reading before these experience. About the concept... To better plan. You pay the price of the main course (in the range of 75) and you get an appetizer at your choice, a salad, a soup, a dessert and of course the main course. So you have a lot of amazing food. Therefore, as a gourmet but a weight watcher I would go there for lunch instead of dinner. Onion soup was great, the vegetarian grilled vegetable mix was perfect, the halibut in pastry was delicious. The wine list is great and Bordeaux list is even better... Desserts... Crème Brûlée as in Paris... Service is excellent and the decor intimate. Menu for kids is available and a coat is recommended for...monsieurs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dinner here is always a treat and you feel you have traveled to an old world setting. The food is delicious-the game feast is my husbands favorite. The service is some of the finest you will encounter. The tables near the windows are best for romantic occasions as some tables are a bit close in the center of the fist room. Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lstimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The bistro on the lowevel”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

At the back of the restaurant there is a less formal dining room called the Bistro. This dining room uses the same kitchen as its upstairs parent. The service is still world class and has the identical wine and drink menu. The only downside is that the room is tightly packed with tables and much more noisy. Additional sound deadening decor would be a great addition.

Check this out for last minute dining experience when a less formal dinner party is needed..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

One of the best restaurants I've been to. Got the French onion soup, tomato salad (picked that day from their garden), Chateaubriand, chocolate souffle, and I could not find a single flaw in any dish. The food was simply out of this world, and the service was not even the slightest bit stuffy as some previous reviews have indicated. In fact, our server was quite funny and went out of his way to ensure our friends' 7 year old boy enjoyed his French dining experience as well. I'm still thinking about this meal and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing