We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal, but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
DC Metro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal, but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided to celebrate our anniversary at Chez Francois in March. We had been warned it would not come cheaply! We had a great meal, everything cooked to order and excellent service. It was nice to dine somewhere you did not feel rushed and could actually have a conversation without yelling to be heard!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    73
    35
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty, a good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There isn't anything bad to say about L'Auberge, unless it's the location, which is a little far from everything. But there isn't anything for me to really RAVE about either. The food is consistently good, french, but not inventive or particularly edgy. The experience is pleasant, the food is good. You wont be disappointed, but I wasn't particularly overawed.

Helpful?
Thank skontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Star Chef, warm ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the moment you walk in to this very Alsatian provincial decor, you are made welcome and treated like a respected customer by the senior staff. The table waiter was a little condescending as we were a table of two ladies(I was taking my 90 year old mother to dinner) but as the night wore on he realized we were experienced eaters and his service demeanor improved.
The food was outstanding and although not inexpensive, was an excellent value for the money. Provincial country food with an air of elegance and truth, each course was delicious and well presented. Balanced and not overembellished we finished cocktails, wine, three courses, an amuse-bouche and a palate cleansing sorbet without discomfort all the while under the watchful eye of the dining room captain.
It is a restaurant for chefs and afficionados. A night to remember with fondness.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quality without pretentiousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Always reliable; quality food and friendly attentive service. Delightful surroundings and a fairly quiet dining room - that's worth something these days!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shenandoah1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Disaster!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A much anticipated Easter luncheon at the Auberge for my wife and I turned out to be an unmitigated disaster! This was our third foray to this much-heralded eatery after a hiatus of 15 years or so. Time (and probably the absence of founder Papa Francois) has not been kind to this venerable fixture of the Washington restaurant scene. Firstly, the most "special" part of the special "Easter Menu) was the blatant and significant increase in the price - from @$35-$50 to @$80 pp for approximately the same 3 course menu (plus insipid salad). My meal started out with an unbelievably inedible preparation of "muscles provencal"- consisting of eight miniscule bivalves slathered in a tasty but watery garlic infused liquid. There is no question in my mind that the dish was prepared from frozen muscles or prepared en masse beforehand and allowed to sit in a steam table - they were grainy, soft and mushy to
the point where they disintegrated when "forked" and could only be eaten with a spoon. I sent them back to the kitchen and was rushed to replace them with a very pedestrian smoked salmon preparation. My wife's appetizer choice of a cold seafood dish in a remoulade sauce was marginally acceptable but essentially tasteless. Unfortunately, the inauspicious start to our meal did not improve much with the subsequent courses. We each had the lobster and crabmeat in a nage as our entree. The portions of lobster were generous but, like the muscles, totally lacking any briny taste of the sea - one could have been eating pieces of haddock or monkfish - again obvious that the offerings were prepared much in advance and allowed to sit in their nage in a steam table until all the " essence of the Sea" was dissipated. At that point, our dining experience was so unpleasant that we hurried through the dessert course - anxious to put our much-anticipated Easter celebration behind us. We are a retired diplomatic couple who lived in France for five years so perhaps our expectations and demands are quite high, but this entire dining experience was remarkably bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randsindc515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing