We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Standing Winner”

L'Auberge Chez Francois
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Auberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Long Standing Winner”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been celebrating special occasions (wife's birthday and anniversary) at Chez Francois for over 40 years. From the time that it was in downtown DC, waiting through the quiet period for the move to Great Falls, through the rebuilding after the fire, we still look forward to the romantic meals. Menu has not changed a great deal over the years and will still enjoy the Alsacian delights and new things that have been introduced. Always reserve a plum tart when we enter. We enjoy garden dining in spring and fall and the downstairs Bistro on a winter night. Wine list is robust and reasonable. Servers are knowledgeable and want to please.Always worried about driving home over the roller coaster, curvy roads after dinner. Our sustained favorite in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank No1HoyaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    75
    35
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch perfection.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This year for our annual "festive meal" with my daughter and her fiance we chose to try L'Auberge Chez Francois. I had always heard great things about it but had never tried it when I lived in Virginia. Visiting the area from Pennsylvania, we decided to meet there for the Sunday lunch, which is a 4 course offering for the price of the entree, unless you add a special salad or soup and dessert. We loved the atmostphere; quaint, comfortable and ready for Christimas with a real tree in the vestibule and another in the dining room in which we were seated. Our server was knowledgeable about the different dishes and made nice wine suggestions for the our different main courses. The breads and amuse bouche from the chef were delicious. This provided some time to peruse the extensive wine list. We had mussels as an appetizer and I have to say, I have eaten a lot of mussels in many different countries and these were probably the nicest I have ever eaten. The food preparation and presentation were lovely. Everyone at the table enjoyed their choices from the Alsatian feast - sauerkraut, sausages, pork sausage and duck confit to grilled herb scented Free range chicken breast, mushrooms and spaëtzle - each plate was delicious. My short ribs just melted in my mouth they were so tender. I recommend considering one of soufflés for dessert. Both the chocolate and the hazlenut were wonderful, each came with its own special sauce. We did not feel rushed in any way. The server was very attentive, not overbearing or "encouraging" us to order the extra price items. I would definitely go back for a special occasion and probably try a dinner next time. In my opinion, the Sunday lunch is a great value for the food and the dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening at LAuberge”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We try to meet here with another couple at least during the holiday season. Beautiful place with excellent service and food. All the appetizers were excellent, My wife and I once again had the Chateaubriand for two and as is always the case, cooked exactly as ordered and excellent. A very special place and after two bottles of wine and all courses an expensive yet well worth it experience. We will continue to return and try to sample more of the extensive menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not as incredible as before”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I came here for our anniversary recently. We had dined here a couple of years ago and loved the food and atmosphere so decided to return for our special occasion. Maybe our memories fooled us but we were underwhelmed this time. The service was decent, but nothing spectacular. It could have been just our waiter, as we saw other tables with much friendlier service, but our waiter was aloof and appeared disinterested in us. The food was just OK, the worst being presentation. Seemed like food was just "plopped" on a plate with no effort to pretty it up even in the slightest. The souffle for dessert remained the highlight of the meal. I do think it is a good value - for the listed price, you receive quite a bit of food, IMO. I was also surprised that the dining rooms seemed fairly empty. We had also dined on a weeknight previously that it was packed then. Perhaps the increase in prices, coupled with decrease in quality of food / service, have led to this? Anyway, it was still a lovely experience, although we probably will not be returning, not if the food quality and overall dining experience do not improve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NUmathgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite special event restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is consistently our favorite place to go for special dinners. The food and service are excellent and the ambience is most pleasant in every season.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Chez Francois also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to L'Auberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing