We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save airfare...dine in a real French restaurant in the US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LAuberge Chez Francois

LAuberge Chez Francois
Reserve with OpenTable
LAuberge Chez Francois is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beach Mill Road
Description: Travellers in the beautiful Alsatian countryside, seek out "auberge", the little family inns that dot the roadsides, to eat well and enjoy the scenery. They know they will find fine food and glowing spirits, at an excellent value. Welcome to L"Auberge Chez Francois, our French country inn a short distance from the nation's capital, nestled among lush woods and fragrant gardens, that has captivated visitors for over 50 years. L'Auberge Chez Francois is the ideal spot to celebrate special moments, private parties,luncheons, weddings and cooking demonstrations. Our menu is extensive and full of the flavors of Alsace and traditional French cuisine. Excellent food and service, attention to detail and a casually elegant atmosphere are hallmarks that have made L'Auberge Chez Francois a Washington favorite. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy your visit with us. Jacques Brasserie at L'Auberge is open Tues-Sat,5-9:00PM,Sunday 3-7:30PM. Reservations for Jacques' Brasserie via phone only!
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Save airfare...dine in a real French restaurant in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

One of the finest restaurant experiences I've ever had. The food is exquisite. The service is beyond superb. The atmosphere is relaxing, hospitable and charming. Better thn any French cuisine I ate in France. For what they give you, the prices are actually modest.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    73
    35
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This is the best restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I love this place. Food, atmosphere, attitude, wine list. Cool.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatFallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best place for special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a truly lovely restaurant, away from the madding crowd in the beautiful countryside of Great Falls. Due to rainy weather, we were not able to dine on the beautiful patio, with red-painted tables and small lights on the trees and the gazebos. But the dining rooms are lovely, too. This is a French country inn with truly delicious food. The prices will seem high but then you realize that the prices of the entrees INCLUDE appetizer, salad, daily vegetable dish, and dessert, in addition to a cleansing sorbet between courses, and delicious bread in a basket with pot cheese. And they will gladly fix left-overs to take home. We have been here for special occasions before and always think it's a wonderful place. The service is always impeccable. Our server this time was Alejandro, who guided me between two wines I was considering, and between two appetizers I was looking at. They also have, for extra, some specials that aren't on the regular menu. The Alsatian cassoulet, the Provence shrimp and scallops, the trout, the dover sole, and the beef filets have all been terrific (all on the regular menu). My husband had a special lobster salad which he proclaimed quite good. I had the roquefort tart with carmelized apples, and it was so delicious. We've also raved about the asparagus with ham and quail egg, and the salmon variations among the appetizers. And the plum tart, raspberry souffle, and lime tart have all been deeply appreciated, from the dessert menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not sure its worth the visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

so this place has been on my list for years, finally i was able to go for my birthday the other day. the ambiance and elegance of the place is fantastic, and the service very professional. but for the price of the food and the food itself, i can think of several other french restaurants close by that are much better. every entree is above $60 and most are $70. granted, you do get a starter, side and dessert and coffee. i just was not impressed with my food. i had escargot, roquefort salad, lobster and a cheese plate, hubby had an excellent mushroom crepe, caesar salad, scallops and creme brulee. i guess the problem for me was, for a 4 star highly acclaimed restaurant i felt like what i got i could have had much cheaper elsewhere. his scallops were pretty plain, and the veggies and fruit on the plates were either not ripe or not fresh. as i said the crepe appetizer is really the only thing that was a wow factor for me. my lobster was amazing but you can really get that anywhere (the sauce it was in was delectable though). anyhow, i was expecting a wow and instead i got a ho-hum. i am glad i went but i would not go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kel400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Incredible Anniversary dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

L'Auberge Chez Francois is such a Treasure. The food is always fantastic the service is the best you will ever have anywhere. A family run restaurant that will not only bring you fantastic food served with brilliant accuracy by there well trained staff. They will make you feel as if you are the only guests and they are especially proud to have you there.

Make sure that you order the Souffle when you order your main course. I highly recommend the Grand Marnier.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAuberge Chez Francois also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to LAuberge Chez Francois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing