We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordonsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonsville B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top of the Hill”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This B&B accessible to Charlottesville, Montpelier, and the wine country of central Viginia is a special treat. The owners will assist you on your tours of nearby winerys, including some producing the best reds in the US, and our favorite restaurant in Gordonsville, the fantastic Pomme. Hope you all will check out Uphill and experience the top of the lot of British courtesy at this great B&B. Do not be shy and order the full British breakfast - memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This bed and breakfast is above all others. We were there for 2 nights and wish we were still there. Hospitality plus served with graciousness and love! We enjoyed every moment. It was clean, quiet, delicious. We had such a restful experience and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. Do yourself a favor and book a night or 2 here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 722cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I cant say enough about this beautifully situated b and b near Charlottesville or the lovely Joyce and Lynn, who anticipate your every need. This place is in the middle of the woods and so peaceful. We were greeted with wine and cheese (wine from nearby Barboursville Vineyards) and sat on the deck drinking in the green paradise. Rooms and everything else spotless - Lynn gave us slippers to wear around the house -- quality toiletries, comfy bed with turndown service and bedtime cookies and chocolates. We did not even get to taste the cookies that are always out because the breakfasts were so substantial, cooked to order, and varied. They helped us with our itineraries and were just so happy to please us. We would come back to just stay there and be cosseted to death and forget totally about any sightseeing.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a tv, others did so you might ask prior to booking. We peeked into the King b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent three nights when traveling for a wedding. Uphill House was delightful. The lush setting in August made us want to stay more nights. Everything was spotless. Joyce and Lynne were very attentive. They would magically appear whenever we imagined that we needed assistance. Quality wine and cheese in the afternoons and a full "English Breakfast" just added to the experience. The last night we sat outside and enjoyed the setting and the sounds of the woods. Beds were great; bathrooms were spacious. We relied on Joyce and Lynne to plan out daily excursions and they did a great job. We will return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KKeenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Joyce & Lynn have a perfect location if you want to visit vineyards. They are within minutes of 5-6 (maybe more). The house and grounds are exceptionally kept. Beautiful gardens full of flowers, humming birds, butterflies and other wildlife. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoying the peace and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful with pasteries, fruit, yogart, ginger cake with lemon sauce, cereals, fruit pie, fresh juice for starters and then made to order eggs, bacon, sauage, home made toast, etc. Cookies, soda, water are available at all times, and evening 4 -6 wine and cheese is availabe. The rooms are bright, clean, and spacious. It was perfect weekend, looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Stayed in the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Teresa_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The Uphill House B&B is a wonderful place to stay. The house itself was purpose-built in 2010 - so it has all the modern conveniences (although the WiFi is a little slow) - but the Mother/Daughter Team that own and operatate are steeped in the best traditions of the English B&B; the family having been in the biz for multiple generations.

One absolute treat is the daily fresh baked goodies that come from the kitchen morning and night - as well as all the 'regular' breadstuffs that are all done on prem. The Full English Breakfast is cooked to order and very, very good.

Our room, Winscombe, was on the ground floor with a great view into the front garden and forest. The room is spacious with nice chairs by the windows for comfortable reading. The back of the house has a nice large deck with hummingbird feeeders and butterfly attractions.

we would come back and recommend without rservations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First of all, the location is wonderful if you're looking for a nice, quiet, somewhat secluded B&B. The house is beautiful, lots of land in the back with a beautiful deck to enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast in the morning is made to order and excellent. (Try the Mexican Fruit Crisp! It was great!) Joyce and Lynn were just wonderful hosts -- I even got a hug when we said goodbye! The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The location is wonderfully close to a few local wineries. It was a fabulous stay and we will absolutely stay again! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjbsn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
12.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
11.2 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.2 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uphill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18248 Buzzard Hollow Rd, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7608
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern bed and breakfast features five beautiful guest rooms and is situated on a secluded, wooded 11 acre property. While at the Uphill House you will enjoy amenities such as complimentary WIFI, in suite baths, plush robes and hairdryers, two convenient breakfast times, TV in the main living room and two guest rooms, homemade pastries and afternoon snacks, complimentary beverages, and a spacious back porch complete with swing and fire pit. Comfort is our number one priority and it is our pleasure to help you relax. So, come on Uphill and let us take care of you! Scott and Samantha Darling ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing