We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ten star stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Gordonsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This bed and breakfast is above all others. We were there for 2 nights and wish we were still there. Hospitality plus served with graciousness and love! We enjoyed every moment. It was clean, quiet, delicious. We had such a restful experience and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. Do yourself a favor and book a night or 2 here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 722cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I cant say enough about this beautifully situated b and b near Charlottesville or the lovely Joyce and Lynn, who anticipate your every need. This place is in the middle of the woods and so peaceful. We were greeted with wine and cheese (wine from nearby Barboursville Vineyards) and sat on the deck drinking in the green paradise. Rooms and everything else spotless - Lynn gave us slippers to wear around the house -- quality toiletries, comfy bed with turndown service and bedtime cookies and chocolates. We did not even get to taste the cookies that are always out because the breakfasts were so substantial, cooked to order, and varied. They helped us with our itineraries and were just so happy to please us. We would come back to just stay there and be cosseted to death and forget totally about any sightseeing.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a tv, others did so you might ask prior to booking. We peeked into the King b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent three nights when traveling for a wedding. Uphill House was delightful. The lush setting in August made us want to stay more nights. Everything was spotless. Joyce and Lynne were very attentive. They would magically appear whenever we imagined that we needed assistance. Quality wine and cheese in the afternoons and a full "English Breakfast" just added to the experience. The last night we sat outside and enjoyed the setting and the sounds of the woods. Beds were great; bathrooms were spacious. We relied on Joyce and Lynne to plan out daily excursions and they did a great job. We will return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank KKeenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Joyce & Lynn have a perfect location if you want to visit vineyards. They are within minutes of 5-6 (maybe more). The house and grounds are exceptionally kept. Beautiful gardens full of flowers, humming birds, butterflies and other wildlife. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoying the peace and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful with pasteries, fruit, yogart, ginger cake with lemon sauce, cereals, fruit pie, fresh juice for starters and then made to order eggs, bacon, sauage, home made toast, etc. Cookies, soda, water are available at all times, and evening 4 -6 wine and cheese is availabe. The rooms are bright, clean, and spacious. It was perfect weekend, looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Stayed in the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Teresa_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Uphill House B&B is a wonderful place to stay. The house itself was purpose-built in 2010 - so it has all the modern conveniences (although the WiFi is a little slow) - but the Mother/Daughter Team that own and operatate are steeped in the best traditions of the English B&B; the family having been in the biz for multiple generations.

One absolute treat is the daily fresh baked goodies that come from the kitchen morning and night - as well as all the 'regular' breadstuffs that are all done on prem. The Full English Breakfast is cooked to order and very, very good.

Our room, Winscombe, was on the ground floor with a great view into the front garden and forest. The room is spacious with nice chairs by the windows for comfortable reading. The back of the house has a nice large deck with hummingbird feeeders and butterfly attractions.

we would come back and recommend without rservations.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First of all, the location is wonderful if you're looking for a nice, quiet, somewhat secluded B&B. The house is beautiful, lots of land in the back with a beautiful deck to enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast in the morning is made to order and excellent. (Try the Mexican Fruit Crisp! It was great!) Joyce and Lynn were just wonderful hosts -- I even got a hug when we said goodbye! The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The location is wonderfully close to a few local wineries. It was a fabulous stay and we will absolutely stay again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbsn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Joyce and Lynn (mother and daughter) are wonderful hosts. Most B & B's are located in old structures, but they built this house in 2010 for the sole purpose of using it as a B & B and situating their living quarters above the large garage. Therefore, it is centrally located in the Virginia Wine Country and just a short car ride to Charlottesville. It is very clean and they offer little touches such as bed turndown with homemade mini sugar cookies. Added comforts are the afternoon wine and cheese, 24 hour cookie tray, canned soft drinks, bottled water and they'll keep the ice bucket filled upon request. The typical English breakfast is delicious (eggs, banger, bacon, baked beans, tomatoes and mushrooms and homemade bread toast). The meal begins with a wonderful fresh fruit plate and homemade finger pastries with delightful flavors of buttery crust and fruit. We stayed in the large Winscombe room on the first floor. The king bed was very comfortable with all linens super soft to the touch, including the heavy terry cloth robes! The grounds are meticulously designed and groomed. And relaxing on the spacious back deck is not to be missed. These ladies are very accommodating and fun to talk to. Also, you can't beat the reasonable price for all you get!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
8.4 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
581 reviews
12.5 mi away
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
264 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Uphill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18248 Buzzard Hollow Rd, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7608
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonsville
Price Range: $137 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uphill House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern bed and breakfast features five beautiful guest rooms and is situated on a secluded, wooded 11 acre property. While at the Uphill House you will enjoy amenities such as complimentary WIFI, in suite baths, plush robes and hairdryers, two convenient breakfast times, TV in the main living room and two guest rooms, homemade pastries and afternoon snacks, complimentary beverages, and a spacious back porch complete with swing and fire pit. Comfort is our number one priority and it is our pleasure to help you relax. So, come on Uphill and let us take care of you! Scott and Samantha Darling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Uphill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing