We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordonsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonsville B&B and Inns
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this B&B due to the proximity to Barboursville and the its renowned restaurant . The mother and daughter made you feel like family. You are greeted by name and made to feel comfortable from the beginning. Their local knowledge and suggested mini tour of the local wineries is a nice touch. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is bountiful. Afternoon wine and cheese on the deck made for a perfect end of the day. If you are planning a winery trip on the east side of Charlottesville, this is the place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. We also appreciate the time you spent and the action of posting a review as we find so many people read them and it makes a difference. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We only stayed at Uphill for one night but had a fantastic experience. The B&B was beautifully decorated and placed in a great location, very near to several of the local area wineries. What stood out for us was how welcoming Joyce and Lynn were. They had arranged complimentary visits to nearby wineries and provided recommendations for local restaurants and insider tips for visiting Charlottesville. The small touches such as turn down service complete with homemade cookies, a full English breakfast cooked to order along with a generally inviting atmosphere made this a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPhilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank You for the lovely review. We were tickled to be the place you chose for the first "getaway". Hope all is continuing to go well and that you both will make it back here a second time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Uphill House was the perfect vacation my girlfriend and I needed. Upon arrival we were greeted by our charming British hosts who set us up in a room that exceeded our expectations. This B&B is nestled in the woods brimming with wildlife and neatly decorated. The real gem of this B&B was the service provided by Joyce and Lynn. Every morning a robust continental breakfast was served while a hearty English breakfast was available too made to order. I'm a little picky with how I like my eggs in the morning and Lynn was happy to oblige. This is a small example of how Lynn and Joyce will go to make your stay perfect.

Lynn and Joyce feature local wines at their "wine and cheese" hours. It was nice to mingle with the other guests. Our hosts had a lot of information learned over the years on the local wineries and were very helpful in planning our itineraries each day. We enjoyed our experience immensely and look forward to seeing them again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms are bigger than they appear in the photos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A mother daughter team own this bed and breakfast and they work very hard to make sure guests are comfortable and happy with their stay. My daughter and I visited the area for the weekend from Washington D.C. It was a good sized beautiful house off the main road up a long driveway and you ended up in the middle of forest. It was very quiet. The inside of the house and bedrooms seemed newly renovated and the rooms were like hotel rooms equipped with plenty of closet and drawer space, very roomy private bathroom, robes and lush carpets. Breakfast was both continental as well as a served English breakfast. They provided all sorts of suggestion for places to see and restaurants to visit. One of the main must do in the area is wine tasting. The owners provided us information on the best ones to visit. The only negative is that the B & B is about 20-30 minutes from Charlottesville and the road is very dark at night. I would highly recommend staying here as it is beautiful and is less pricy than the places closer to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Lynn and Joyce (daughter and mother) are the most gracious and hospitable people in the B&B world! Everything setup and prepared above and beyond our expectations. They provided directions and recommendations to the best wineries around, the order to hit them, and directions. She made our dinner reservations as well as rescheduled them due to us succumbing to their 600 thread count luxury bed after an intense day of wine tasting! All in all it is a beautiful, quiet, immaculately clean place to stay in the company of very friendly people! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aclstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you both for the lovely write up! We loved having you stay here and now you become "special family". Hope you are able to come this way soon...with or without friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Uphill House in July 2011, and loved every aspect of our experience there - the charming home nestled in the woods (and recently built, with all the modern amenities), the proximity to area wineries, hiking, and wonderful restaurants, and above all, Joyce and Lynn, the incredibly welcoming, warm, and friendly women who manage the bed and breakfast. Although this was our first visit, Joyce and Lynn made us feel like old friends from the moment we crossed the threshold, ensuring that we were comfortable, well-fed (with their delicious cooking - an authentic English breakfast each morning, elaborate snacks all day and night, and delicious treats in our room), and completely relaxed throughout our stay. This is not your typical B&B - Joyce and Lynn go the extra mile every day to give special and individualized attention to each of their guests, and truly seem to enjoy having everyone in their lovely home. They even drove us to and from Barboursville's Palladio restaurant one evening! We left there fully rested, with many wonderful memories from our day trips in the area, and determined to visit again as often as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joycelynn, Owner at Uphill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Hello CLB18,

I have finally listed with TripAdvisor and can now respond to the guests who send in reviews. I read yours just the other day...and Thank You!! You definitely made our day here. We believe that you have to enjoy and want to do this for a living...and we both do. What many guests don't realize is that you are the reason we do it and love it so much. If there were not guests such as you, I think there would be a lot less B & B's. I hope you all will come and visit again...next time you come as "family" as we adopt all our "regulars". Again, thank you! Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The main purpose of our one night sojourn was to visit James Madison's Montpelier and dine at the Palladio Restaurant in the Barboursville Vineyards. The Uphill B & B is only 15 minutes from Montpelier and 5 minutes from the restaurant. The meal and wine pairings were so elaborate we welcomed the simplicity and convenience of Uphill House. Our British hosts were charming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
12.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
11.2 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
8.2 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uphill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uphill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Uphill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18248 Buzzard Hollow Rd, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7608
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern bed and breakfast features five beautiful guest rooms and is situated on a secluded, wooded 11 acre property. While at the Uphill House you will enjoy amenities such as complimentary WIFI, in suite baths, plush robes and hairdryers, two convenient breakfast times, TV in the main living room and two guest rooms, homemade pastries and afternoon snacks, complimentary beverages, and a spacious back porch complete with swing and fire pit. Comfort is our number one priority and it is our pleasure to help you relax. So, come on Uphill and let us take care of you! Scott and Samantha Darling ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing