We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shenandoah Crossing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Trip”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

While browsing through a Bass Pro Shop we were approached by a Bluegreen travel agent who talked us into a three night stay at any of their locations. We thought the offer was very fair and chose the Shenandoah Valley.

The drive out was beautiful. The area is gorgeous. The resort was wonderful as well. Friendly staff, large horse stables, pool, big lake with boat rentals available, free put-put golf...

The cabin was also wonderful. The kitchen had all the tools we needed. Even the beds were VERY comfortable. The front desk made a few calls to ensure we were doing okay.

I really could not complain about one thing. I just wish we stayed longer and that we had time to visit the abundance of vineyards close to the resort!

We will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: There are cabins directly on the lake. Unfortunately, we did not get into one of those and did not k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Cara B,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are thrilled you had a great stay and enjoyed the cabin and resort amenities. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    173
    80
    40
    51
See reviews for
261
170
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are bluegreen owners and were very excited about staying at this property. We drove our two young girls from MS for 14 hours ready to enjoy a relaxing week here. So far today we have found that our Tvs have terrible cable reception and after notifying management who was already aware of the problem but failed to tell us at check in or offer any sort of comp we were told nothing could be done. The second disappointment of the day came when we went outside to enjoy the view on our deck outside and our neighbors who were also in a non smoking caving as well were smoking on their deck. Apparently according to the front desk, that is acceptable. When second hand smoke is as just as harmful, I find that totally UNACCEPTABLE. We will make the most of our stay here the best we can but we will not be back and would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heflins1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Heflins1021,

As Bluegreen owners we greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Shenandoah Crossing. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and would like to further discuss. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Va
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just stayed for a few days. There are plenty of outdoor activities, some free and some like horseback riding cost. The accommodations were fine though a little outdated( I understand these are being updated 1 by1). The bathrooms need some work. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. The pool area was nice but I can see a need for an adult only pool located on a different part of the property. With mini golf, basketball courts, a marina for fishing, and playgrounds the resort is really family friendly. I was disappointed there was not a walking path around the lake. The way the lakefront cabins are located , you feel you are intruding on their privacy if you walk around the lake. The only real complaint is the parking in the cul-de-sacs . It is very limited and somewhat unorganized. Nice peaceful weekend and the scenery was quite beautiful. Good place to recharge your battery.

Room Tip: Adjacent golf course is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wopo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello wopo10,

Thank you for sharing your review of Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you had a nice peaceful weekend and enjoyed the accommodations and on-site amenities and activities. We hope to welcome you back once everything is updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The cabins are very nice but I wish our two bedroom had two bathrooms. I especially loved walking the grounds and looking at the horses on site. I happened across a two big woodpeckers which were busy in the wooded area in the older section of cabins. Someone took the battery out of the tv remote and when I called the front desk, they had someone out to help within minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello jatwell,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shenandoah Crossing. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the cabin very nice. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in Yurt 754. It was a 2 bedroom Yurt. We left our child at home for a nice romantic getaway. It would have been much less romantic with a second bedroom occupied as the walls do not go all the way up to the ceiling. The yurt was nicely appointed. We didn't have issues with wireless connection but the DVD player in the living room didn't work and the reception on the televisions were pretty terrible. The kitchen was stocked with pretty much everything you might need although the outlets were oddly placed. We booked through Bass Pro shops so we endured the group/individual presentations and didn't purchase although it did take longer than 2 hrs - the pricing on the options weren't terrible but we aren't in a place where we could take them up on an offer. We didn't use any of the concierge services and I am a bit disappointed that the main resort building is still shut down after being burnt down a year ago.We wrote separate reviews for our dining experiences. The property was extremely clean - especially after hosting a wedding and a prom on the Saturday night. The music was loud enough to hear in our yurt but it was a pleasant distraction for us. Our yurt did have a few maintenance issue in the bathroom - loose tile in the middle of the floor and some settling cracking in the shower. I would stay her again. As others have mentioned - a little bit out there. Directions gave a nice scenic route but we found it to be much quicker to get off I64 exit for Zion Crossings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello ProfHannah,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you were pleased with our Yurt-style accommodations and that you found our property extremely clean. We appreciate the feedback you have provided regarding our timeshare presentation and room issues. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom cabin the first night. Very nice. Well appointed, except no TV in the 2nd bedroom. But, since my husband and I were travelling without the kids, it was OK. The 2nd and 3rd nights we stayed in the one room Yurt. It was absolutely the coolest place I've ever stayed. Really really nice. Met and exceeded my expectations.

Location of resort was a bit secluded. But, Gordonsville is a lovely little town. Everything is within a 30-45 minute drive. Went to Monticello and Montpelior while we were there. Monticello was amazain. Montpelio was nice, but if you have to choose between the two, go to Monticello.

Went to BBQ Exchange in Gordonsoville. Crowded. Delicious. A little pricey compared to other places in the area.

If you go to Monticello, stop at the Chadsworth Market at the corner of Hwy 250 and Hwy 22. Best fried chicken I've ever had in my entire life.

Room Tip: Choose the Yurt. Hands down, the coolest place ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogloverLongwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello dogloverLongwood,

We are thrilled our Yurt style accommodations were the coolest that you have ever stayed in. We are happy you found your Yurt well-appointed. We love knowing we are exceeding the expectations of our guests. The information you have provided about the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a stay. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited Shenandoah Crossing in April 2014. While we thoroughly enjoyed our time visiting the area wineries and Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, our stay at the resort detracted from our trip.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom yurt and were very excited upon arrival and initial impression of the room(s); however, the "non-smoking" accommodations were anything but. Either this was formerly a smoking room, or a recent guest smoked illegally during their stay. A strong, stale smoke smell persisted the entire time we stayed there.

We had a baby with us, and a few with allergies, so we immediately called the front desk to try to switch. They insisted there was "nothing they could do" except offer up a cabin that didn't fit our party, or spray a chemical to try to hide the smell (the idea of unidentified chemicals did not sound attractive with the baby present). The staff overall did not seem very sympathetic or helpful; I could not believe they were so fully booked that they couldn't transfer us to another room or offer up a better solution to rid the yurt of the smell.

We ended up living with the smell and kept the screen doors open all day/night to try to air it out (unsuccessfully). Again, we did enjoy our overall trip to the area but will strongly reconsider staying here again, or at least without insisting that our yurt truly be non-smoking.

Room Tip: Avoid yurt 703 if you have allergies to smoke or small children. This room is not truly "non-sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello KateHelm,

Thank you for staying at Shenandoah Crossing. We regret to learn you were disappointed with our accommodations. We apologize for the smoke smell you experienced in your yurt. We are committed to providing exceptional service and assure you that we did not have any other 2-bedroom units available. We would like to follow up with you to discuss your comments. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
464 reviews
22.0 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
212 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Crossing

Property: Shenandoah Crossing
Address: 174 Horseshoe Cir, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Shenandoah Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Crossing Hotel Gordonsville
Shenandoah Crossing Gordonsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing