We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in a Yurt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shenandoah Crossing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bath Yurt. What a fun experience. I call it city girl camping. The resort is beautiful and it is nestled in the woods of the Shenandoah Valley. We had exceptional service from all staff members. We cannot wait to go again. It is in the middle of wine country, close to Charlottesville which has tons of things to do and great places to eat. This resort also has a Lodge and cabins if you prefer, but we loved the Yurt experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello Karen W,

Thank you for sharing your fun experience staying in a Yurt at Shenandoah Crossing. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and cannot wait to return. Your compliments regarding the resort and staff are greatly appreciated as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next city girl camping adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 579 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our 4 nights that we stayed. The staff was friendly and the resort was well maintained. We took a boat out and went fishing, fished off the dock, played tennis, played miniature golf, walked a trail, played on the playground, played with a giant chess set, played in the game room. All with out leaving the resort. Our Villa was simple, but very clean and large enough for our family of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkfrogtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello pinkfrogtoes,

Thank you for staying with us at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy your family enjoyed your stay and you found the villa clean and fitting for your family. We appreciate the compliments regarding the staff and the resort property as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gordonsville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this resort as part of a promotion through Bass Pro shops - rate was very reasonable ($99 for 2 nights and received $100 in Bass Pro giftcards).

We were assigned one of the two bedroom Yurts (#715) and found the unit to very clean and very well equipped. I would not recommend this type of unit for a family with small children (who want to be able to put them down to bed and stay up) or couples sharing accommodations. The reason for this is that the only walls that go to the ceiling are the bathroom walls. Everything else stops at about 8 foot. The Yurts are also not very sound proofed (as evidenced by the unit next to us being plainly heard!), so don't expect peace and tranquility (we even had the added bonus of some sort of staff 'party' across from us on the last night and I was very surprised that the property allowed such carrying on - they were very loud, chasing each other around outside and just being generally obnoxious).

The property itself was well maintained and it was nice that the pools & hot tubs were still open (the pools are heated - but when the air temp is in the 60's it still feels chilly!).

The information provided by the office relating to grocery stores etc. in the area was spot on - we had no problem finding the Foodlion the first night.

We didn't really do any activities, as this was a trip for my husband and I to relax and reconnect.

We did have a few minor service issues that were quickly resolved - the shower handle was broken and wouldn't turn on. The maintenance department responded within 10 minutes and fixed it within 10 minutes of arriving - Stellar!! Plus while we had him, we asked him to show us how to operate the electric fire place in the unit - they really should put those instructions somewhere - my poor husband 'crawled' all over that thing and couldn't find the switch.

Additionally, the mattresses were very soft but did not provide any support whatsover! And can we talk about the skylight?!? You will not sleep past 7am in this type of unit - I guarantee that! LOL One room is a King bed and the other is a Full bed, with a sleeper sofa in the main living area, though for the life of me I could not imagine having six people in there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crookedhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello crookedhalo,

Thank you for staying at Shenandoah Crossing and sharing your review. We are pleased you found the unit clean and well equipped and enjoyed the pool areas. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of guests and provide outstanding experience. We do hope we succeeded in helping you and your husband have a relaxing time. We welcome the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the Gordonsville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived at Shenandoah Crossing early in the evening.. there is security upon entrance which gives a sense that not just anyone can come in an use the property. Directions were promptly given to the check in location so off we went. The check in was effortless, we were then directed over to the concierge desk, the location that would be able to give any area information to you that you desired. They also attempted to sign us up for there "blue green tour" and sales pitch, we graciously past.. were given resort info and map and continued on our way. The cabin we found was a 2 bedroom, full kitchen full bathroom wooded delight. It had a deck and picnic table and propane BBQ for our use. It was defiantly set in the woods and by day 6 sunshine was certainly craved, but we could go up top and enjoy a game of horseshoes or mini golf (all complimentary) there was full laundry facilities to be used by the guests (again complimentary). We toured the whole property, which is quite vast. there are horses, a greenhouse,a outdoor pool area and hot tub, a general store and a marina. it is a walkers delight and a very nice all round resort. It is clean and tidy and very well maintained. Yes the newer cabins are nicer (at least from the outside) but the older cabins are very nice as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling love... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello travelling love... A,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you found check-in effortless and enjoyed your accommodations. We appreciate your comments regarding the whole property and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Gordonsville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my first visit to a Blue Green resort outside of Missouri. The property was in the middle of renovations and will probably be a lot more fun once the fire damage is repaired in the lodge. (I was not responsible.)
The pool area was great. The kids activities were hit and miss. The horseback riding would have been great if our teen were permitted to ride without an adult. Seriously? Maybe some idiot city kid fell off and sued. Whatever.
The general store was nice since there's really nothing near the property in the way of groceries. My kids still talk about playing life-sized chess though. The miniature golf course is in need of repair and cleaning. I've never played with mud hazzards before...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonbulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello jasonbulger,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you enjoyed the pools and some of the many activities. We appreciate the comments on where we can improve as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding experiences. We hope you will choose to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I did the Bass Pro Offer, attended the BlueGreen Meeting, and camped. Beautiful place. Would be curious if camping like this could be contract free and what the cost would be? We didn't have much service, but we didn't require any. The staff we did talk to were great. The firewood, not so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello Darlene W,

Thank you for staying with us at Shenandoah Crossing. We are delighted you had a good tme and found the resort beautiful. Thank you for your feedback on the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope you will return on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin with a loft with two additional twin beds. The cabin and the beds were very comfortable. Having a full kitchen and grill were an unexpected pleasure. The only drawback to the cabin was that we had four people staying there (the cabin technically could have slept 6) and there was only one couch that sat three people and then a small dining table with 4 hard chairs, which were not comfortable to sit in to watch television or have a conversation. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the cost of horseback riding was a little high and prevented us from doing it, which was something we were really looking forward to. We took several walks, talked to and petted the horses, visited the other animals, used the pool and spa, played mini golf (free), went kyacking ($5 per hour), and went fishing. Overall, it was a great time. And when we realized just after we got home, that our daughter had left her summer bridge packet for school in the cabin, they found it and sent it to us by FedEx the very next day. We would definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Shenandoah Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello Jenny L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shenandoah Crossing. We are happy you found the accommodations comfortable and enjoyed many of the resort activities. It was our pleasure returning your items to you. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the Gordonsville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
542 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
262 reviews
19.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
150 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Crossing

Address: 174 Horseshoe Cir, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Price Range: $63 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shenandoah Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Crossing Hotel Gordonsville
Shenandoah Crossing Gordonsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing