We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW!! Great Idea; No regrets Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shenandoah Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shenandoah Crossing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“WoW!! Great Idea; No regrets Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom yurt. The pictures don't lie. How they are able to maintain these things out in the woods "bug free and spotless" is beyond me. The amenities are modern and all of the furniture has a wooden feel. The interior walls are like log cabin while the outter walls are insulated. These things are impressive. My kids 7 & 9 loved it. The bathroom is huge and the shower can fit about 5 adults inside. it has a dishwasher, microwave, full size fridge, and full size stove and oven. I used the grill every day and sat out on the deck to enjoy morning coffee and evening night caps.
The pools were great (indoor and outdoor). The horseback riding was a nice experience. We kayacked on the lake and did a little fishing one afternoon. We made use of the tennis courts and mini golf.
Don't expect to check in early as it seems that they don't release units until 4pm check-in. They will enable you to use amenities on the property while waiting. The game rooms are fun and we enjoyed a magic show one evening. The dive-in movie by the pool was a nice treat. They don't encourage bringing your own food or drink to the pool areas, but they won't bother you about it and you'll be fine. Just don't bring glass. It is a good idea to go grocery shopping before you get to the area as Walmart is about 30 mins away.
The general store will have alot of the things that you may have forgotten to bring at very reasonable prices. There is a variety of snacks and convenience items available. The deli attached to the general store has hot and cold food with good portions at good prices. We did not use the restaurant, but it looked nice and I would assume is reasonable.
Overall great stay in the yurt at Sheandoah Crossing. The timeshare presentation was about 3 hrs for us, but they are pretty friendly and not pushy. Don't stay here if you have to be connected to the internet or cell phone 24/7. I didn't complain because it was great to get away from the phone and computer for the week. There is a computer at the general store if you must log on. The free wi-fi didn't work for us. We didn't get good signals on the cell phones. It was great to be out of touch with that stuff for a few days. Again, if you need reception and internet, you may be disappointed.
This place is great for families and a romantic getaway. The yurts are like tents so you can hear everything inside all the rooms and outside. nature sounds beatiful. Quiet hours from 10pm-8am worked very well. I can't say anything bad about this place.

Room Tip: Yurt or new cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4realguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    161
    70
    37
    40
See reviews for
226
161
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the yurts it was most enjoyable. The kids thought it was the coolest vacation because the yurts are like glamping , all the amenities of home flat screen tvs , full kitchen , two bedrooms and a living room and a lovely bathroom it also had a deck around the entire place with a grill and sink outside as well as seating. We were in 702 which was very close to the pool areas,little store and game room. Its right across from the stables and has a view of the paddocks. The pools were great two large pools , 2 large hot tubs and a little spray area for smaller kids , the mini golf and playground was a little bit away , you could probably walk if you liked but a car was quicker. Over all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumbauersville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my 3rd year and my family loved it! The way to go is the three bedroom cabins there a lot newer and are really great! My sister had one and I stayed in a Yurt this time which was great. Both places we're very clean. I would not stay in the two br cabins there pretty old.the pools are great and the store was nice if you needed a pizza or a gallon of milk. The resturant is slow but all of us never had a bad meal! Breakfast is very good. Yes the Internet service is slow and getting a signal on your phone is difficult. But after the first day we enjoyed the break from all of that and just went with the flow. There are horseback riding and minature golf and Bon fires for the kids. We went to the supermarket to and grilled on our decks which is a nice touch they give you. This place is for people who want a break from the phone ringing and answering emails and the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We will be going back next year. There is a lake you can fish in to my son caught some bass !

Room Tip: Yurt or three BR cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed only two nights during our 8 day trip to Virginia, and my family came back sharing our Yurt experience more than any other thing. The yurt is a beautiful hotel room inside with flat screen tvs and granite counter tops, but there is no privacy between bedrooms because the ceiling is a tent. So Mom and Dad were just Mom and Dad for a couple of nights, but we LOVED grilling out on our deck with the super convenient propane grill and picnic tables overlooking the woods, and reading in the morning on the deck overlooking the woods. When it started to rain in the middle of the night, we all felt like we were camping because of the pitter patter on the roof, loved it! We played mini golf on the property and the pool area by the yurts is fantastic with hot tubs and resort layout large space. They have a nice activity center with air conditioned space for arts and crafts (at an upcharge) and games/tv for a little rest if needed. The general store was stocked for minor items, not the place you want to shop to stock your kitchen or find meats to grill, and grocery is a good 15 minute drive away so you might want to stop before you arrive. The restaurant on site overlooks a beautiful Virginia lake and rolling hills and the food was above average so definately worth a stop. The activities were minimally attended so I wouldn't count on those for your main itinerary, but they do exist (bonfire, karaoke, etc.). The horseback riding on property was a nice trail ride, nothing more, and closed on Fridays which I thought was a strange day to close. We went to Monticello about 45 mintues away which was totally worth it for ages 8, 16, and 18 plus the two of us. For me, this isn't a place I would stay more than 3 days, but that being said, I would definately make it a stop if in Virginia, especially if you can snag a Yurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were here as part of a 20 person family reunion in August, 2012. We had four cabins, and stayed for a week (Friday to Thursday).

First of all, the property is gorgeous, and the cabins were well kept, well appointed, and very comfortable. The staff we encountered were generally helpful, and everything we were told was generally accurate (pool hours and how things worked, what's available in the general store, activities, towel service, etc.). Our cabin overlooked the lake, and it was genuinely tranquil and lovely, especially early in the morning.

We did have some water quality problems that week, where the water came out brown, but not all the time. We suspected rust in the pipes, but were never told what the issue was. We tend to use bottled water anyway, but it was a bit disconcerting.

Also, if you are planning on staying here, it is important to note that this is a HUGE property, and things are pretty spread out. You can rent a golf cart for $50 per day, and it came in pretty handy. It had to be a half mile walk or better to the pool from our cabin, so the golf cart was more of a necessity than an option. Similarly, the resort itself is not near anything you might want to do in Virginia. Monticello is more than a half hour drive away, the Appalachians for hiking are a good hour away, Richmond (airport, Kings Dominion theme park) are all more than an hour away. Even Charlottesville is a half hour drive or more. We spent a lot of time in the car!

Still, you would be hard pressed to find a better place to go for a week away from the city to just relax. And if that's what you are looking for, I would definitely recommend this place. For an active, on the go family, there is plenty to do right at the resort and if we go back I would plan on taking advantage of the pool, horseback rides, activities, etc.

All in all, we had a very good experience here.

Room Tip: Higher numbered cabins (70 and up) are a little closer to the pool, general store, and horseback rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melbyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The resort is beautiful until you get inside your cabin. We are Bluegreen owners and have stayed at over 15 of our resorts. I have to say, this is the worst accomidation that we have experienced. Poor upkeep, no laundry, holes in walls, cheap beds and linens and an overall poor experience.

Internet access is limited (painfully slow if you can connect) and the tiny TV in our bedroom with just a few channels makes me laugh. We are not here for the TV and internet but these are needed and expected items for business people on vacation.

We consistently praise Bluegreen and love the ability to travel and stay at our resorts. We also send family, friends and business associates to stay at Bluegreen but I will never recommend or send anyone here. This makes me very unhappy.

Bluegreen Management - You need to get this place updated immediately. Im ashamed of the cabins here...

Room Tip: Ask for the new 3 bedroom units or a Yurt but make sure you do not get an "Original" cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wishintogofishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The accommodations and resort were really nice. However, even though this is a step above camping, there are some convenience issues to be aware of. The advertised Wifi in the cabins is worthless. We had to do work during our trip and some days it took almost an hour of constant trying to get a connection and the office's response was 'they are aware of the issue and have called AT&T and it is an issue on their end'- this lasted for the entire week. Also, the cable tv was horrible. We were there during the Olympics and the picture was fuzzy and the color was so washed out that there were no adjustments left on the TV. I know these sound like real First World problems, but they are worth noting.
The resort was great, just skip the Tavern because of slow service and average food. but the rest is worth the trip. The boating/fishing was fun, and the horses were great!
The resort is trying to upgrade the cabins including their access, but it was just not done just yet. For people with bad knees our cabin was tough access with 10 steps on the walkway down then the flight of stairs up to the deck. The cabins had new or pretty good appliances, adequate linens, adequate kitchen equipment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller cabins with easy parking. There are some that you need to walk a distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Crossroads Inn & Suites
13.1 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
19.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
19.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Crossing

Property: Shenandoah Crossing
Address: 174 Horseshoe Circle, Gordonsville, VA 22942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Shenandoah Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Crossing Hotel Gordonsville
Shenandoah Crossing Gordonsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing