We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW YEARS EVE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shenandoah Crossing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Fork Union, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our accomodations were wonderful! We were there for an owner upgrade! I was told there was a dance so I paid $75. We had a late night dinner. We cooked steaks on the grill. We did not go to the dance until 10. We should have had a table, but no. We shoiuld have had party favors but no. The woman said you just got here? I said yes she said I can give you a chair. She also told us that they had alot more people show up so I guess they sold my table and party favors to the overflo that showed up. She put the chairs in front of the door next to some ficus bushes where we were blasted with cold air every time people went to smoke. We even had someone prop the door open on us. The next morning we went to breakfast and we were told about a coupon for breakfast if you went to the dance. We had no coupon in our package. No one ever offered us any thing more than that $75 ticket. We were treated like an after thought because we chose not to got to the dance until 10. So my advise to you is this show up to whatever event you have a ticket for early becuse if you do not you will be litterally left out in the COLD!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Yerts. That was a wonderful cabin? Tent? but we loved that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sudedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    167
    71
    39
    46
See reviews for
238
165
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of their yurts on our 2nd anniversary in November of 2009 and I have loved the idea of it ever since. The country was beautiful with different activities ranging from sports to horseback riding. We did visit some area wineries and historic sites but loved coming home every night to a quiet place, sit on the porch and talk about our day. There was a woman there(I can't remember her name) who was very helpful with guiding us to the right attractions and seeing if there was anything we needed. Very romantic!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KPMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed in Shenandoah Crossing one night in October 2011 while traveling in Virginia, but wished we can stay longer. What a surprise, the farm is huge, very romantic and peaceful. We stayed in Hotel room, nice clean and functional. The service was great, food was reasonable priced and tasteful. This is a definitely place for a family vacation with many great activities right there. As a bonus we visited Montpelier mansion about 20 miles from there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alena006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Shenandoah Crossing in May and stayed again this past weekend. No doubt, we will be back again and again. Truly a jewel in the woods. You actually have to travel a back woods country road to get there, but the trip is well worth it. The only negative is that internet access is not free. They have horseback riding, indoor and outdoor pools, miniature golf, tennis courts, a baseball field and a great little restaurant on the grounds along with a general store. They also offer paddle boats, canoes etc... to use on the lake on the property.
Its "in the middle of nowhere" if you are looking to shop at a mall, but close enough to a lot of history for those who enjoy it. The Blue Ridge Mountains are not far away. Charlottesville, Montpelier, Monticello and Ash Lawn are close. Richmond is a bit of a drive, but not more than an hour or so.
We stayed in the "motel" area again, so I cannot speak for the cabins or yurts. However, in speaking with other vacationers, both are wonderful. And the staff, from the check in staff to maintenance offer true "southern hospitality." When was the last time you got a cheery "good morning sir" from a grounds worker?
As I mentioned in my first review of Shenandoah, this is a time share property. Don't be alarmed. There is no pressure to do the whole presentation.
It has been just my girlfriend and I for the last two trips. And we are very excitied and looking forward to taking the kids in the Spring. Book early. The winter is the slow season, but the rest of the year is really tough to get a room or cabin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a wonderful resort! It is one of the best we have visited. We stayed in a three bedroom cabin with 2-1/2 baths. The unit was beautiful inside and out, clean, and had everything we needed. It even had a working fireplace, and they delivered wood to our door everyday! There are many options for the kind of experience you want, cabins, hotel rooms, yurts, RV camping, and even rustic camping sites! They have onsite horseback riding at good prices, indoor and outdoor pools, a nice General Store, conference rooms available, a fitness center, 80 acre lake, boat rentals, paddle boats, kayaks, just too much to list. All that without even leaving! You are in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley, so take a drive to see the beautiful countryside, visit the President's Homes, and visit downtown Charlotesville walking area. It's just all wonderful. We had a great week and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in room 121 Nov 4&5, 2011. Upon arrival, the front desk had our room ready and we did check in a bit early. They were most informative about the directions and approximate length of time it would take to get to our destination, Charlottsville, VA. We arrived back late that night and had an excellent meal, served by a wonderfully friendly waitress. After our visit with family on Saturday, we found the housekeeping staff did an absolutely excellent job of cleaning the bathroom and straightening up the bedroom area. The room's heater worked very well -- only a few moments to get heat unlike most hotels. We again ate at the tavern and had a good meal. Even the special "pizza" request was honored correctly (cheese and sauce only). A different waitress was equally as friendly as the first. The comedy show that night was very good. Funny. We did leave very early (5:30AM) and there was no one at the front desk so we just left the card keys and locked the door. Although the facility is a fair distance from Jefferson's home and Charlottsville, the roads are good and it is worth the extra time to stay here. We will be looking to bring our grandson there this coming summer.

Room Tip: Request for a first floor room was honored although we did book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed at the Lodge on 3 occasions.
The high points are a field with over 20 horses grazing, a beautiful lake with rental boats and a decent restaurant.
The rooms in the lodge are clean and adequate for a short stay.
Coffee makers and refrigerators were provided.
The facility has an emphasis on outdoor activity from Minature golf to paddleboating.
The location is on a back road that takes you about five miles out of Gordonsville.
I needed a GPS to reassure me that I really was on the correct route because there are not other commercial properties in the area.

The online price was better than what we could get from calling the desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonsville
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
12.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
19.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
18.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Crossing

Property: Shenandoah Crossing
Address: 174 Horseshoe Cir, Gordonsville, VA 22942-7340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gordonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gordonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shenandoah Crossing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shenandoah Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenandoah Crossing Hotel Gordonsville
Shenandoah Crossing Gordonsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing