We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food And Nice Service”

Wild Ginger Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Healthy Food, We've created a series of dishes that are healthy, balanced and delicious. Most of our dishes are cooked to order, therefore, if for any reason you cannot eat certain ingredients, such as cornstarch, oil, salt, sugar or nuts,etc., please let us know when you order. Healthy Cooking, All of our recipes that require cooking oil are prepared with soy bean oil, which contains half the saturated fat content of other vegetable oils and no cholesterol. We DO NOT add M.S.G. to our food.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food And Nice Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wild Ginger has a good size dinning area, and the service is always spot on. The food is average, but you get plenty for your money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Korky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Cuisine”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We tried Wild Ginger for lunch based on the good reviews, and were a bit disappointed.
The service was very good and all the staff were very friendly.
The lunch specials all included an egg roll , soup and rice as well as a generous entree portion. I had Hunan Beef and my wife had Chicken with garlic sauce. As is usual with most chinese dishes made for American tastes both dishes seemed high in sugar. The flavor was OK just a bit sweet.
The food was hot , but made quickly warm by the icy cold plates.
I often judge how clean a restaurant might be by the bathrooms and these seemed very dirty.
Will we return ? With so many choices at this price point in the area, probably not .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Owners & Staff; Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We eat at Wild Ginger at least once a month. The reasons we keep going back are twofold. Really good food at a very reasonable price and extremely friendly owners and staff. The ambiance is homey and nice. We've tried most of the menu items with no misses yet! All meals and apetizers have been served quickly and hot. Definitely not bland and not overly spicy unless ordered that way. So, if you're in Gloucester, definitely put Wild Ginger on your lunch or dinner "To Do'" list. You won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rolnroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I love finding great restaurant's that are tucked away. This restaurant is one of those great little places in a small town. I'll confess that we live in this town, but we'd not visited this place in a really long time. I had the egg drop soup and the Mei Fun with chicken. My picky eater had the sweet and sour chicken and my youngest one had General Tso's. The portions are large and you will definitely have leftovers if you want them. The wait staff was friendly and we enjoyed our visit very much. We will go back as often as possible.

Helpful?
2 Thank TLSpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would come back again. Great food!!! Excellent service!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice place !!!Nice service!!! Food are so fresh and delicious. I would recommend the sesame chicken. Wow...... So good. We would come back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatingKing8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wild Ginger Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing