We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, welcoming Inn...but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Warner Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Warner Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful, welcoming Inn...but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a beautiful plantation style home in a lovely tranquil location...nicely decorated...friendly, helpful staff. Dinner was good, as was breakfast. However, when you are woke up at 7am on a Sunday morning by jackhammers (they were putting in a 'patio' to better serve their wedding parties...which is fine, but at 7am on a Sunday when you have guests staying?) The bed in our room (which was spacious) was not comfortable at all and the room temp is supposed to be able to be controlled in the room -- however, it resets itself to the programmed temp every hour...which meant we were getting up every hour throughout the night to turn the heat off, so no rest...thankfully, we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
90
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This inn is quite elegant. It offers a step into the past with all the conveniences of the present. I combine my 2 night stay with the Gloucester Daffodil Festival in early April each year. The period rooms are lovely & the meals are delicious. There is a small bar in the inn that can prepare a mint julep to sip on the front or 2nd story porch while overlooking the vista. Just pretend you're Scarlett O'Hara or Rhett Butler. In that setting, it's not much of a stretch!
An extra bonus is the boathouse on the property. It's modern, decorated in a seashore motif with comfortable seating, a kitchen, bathroom, deck, fishing poles & water craft to use.
The Inn at Warner Hall has thought of everything!

Room Tip: The Mary Powell room is my favorite -- large, airy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport news va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We wanted to find the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding. Fortunately we found Warner Hall in Gloucester, Virginia. We live in Newport News and had never heard of Warner Hall but was so impressed after finding their website and planning a visit.
What a jewel. Historic, pristine, every historic detail in place.
The Inn has 11 bedrooms, it is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are named for family members of the Warner/Washington families. George Washington’s great, great grandfather, a Warner, built the original house.
It is located on the Severn River three miles off of Rt. 17 in Gloucester. When you drive down Feather Bed Lane, take the right on to Warner Hall Road, and then turn into the actual property, you are in another world, another time.
We had much discussion with Theresa, the inn keeper, about the wedding plans. They had every detail in place. The menu is extensive and is overseen by their own award winning Chef Eric Garcia.
As much planning went into Kim and Brian’s wedding, much of the actual wedding was arranged by the staff at Warner Hall. Many of our family members stayed at Warner Hall. The beds are so comfortable and all the rooms are decorated exquisitely.
When one books the wedding, the contract stipulates that all the guests occupy the eleven rooms. Well we could have not been happier. We had the run of the Hall from Friday noon until Sunday noon. No other people would be on site. We were treated like family and no request went unanswered. Breakfast is included each morning and is a gourmet delight. The gourmet menu is fresh and delicious.
The day of the wedding went really well, with the staff walking us through every detail. Luckily the weather was in the 60’s after a cold and snowy winter. The wedding was held outside under the trees.
What a beautiful sight to see our daughter walked down the aisle by her father and my son sitting next to me watching Kim and Brian get married.
The reception was perfect. We had it under the new tent and patio just set up the week before. It was breathtaking to look out at the glorious grounds as we danced the evening away.
Our friends and wedding guests have not stopped telling us how wonderful the wedding was. From the historic venue of Warner Hall to the furnishings to the food they were in awe.
If you ever want to have the perfect event, consider Warner Hall or if you just want a get-away in the perfect location to rest and relax and be pampered, stay at Warner Hall. The ambience, the food, the views are amazing.
Theresa and Troy Stavens are the innkeepers and they will make your stay a special time in your lives…they made our daughter’s special day something we will never forget.
www.warnerhall.com

Room Tip: All of the Warner Hall rooms and wonderful and the beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindabNewportNewsVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport news, va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We wanted to find the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding. Fortunately we found Warner Hall in Gloucester, Virginia. We live in Newport News and had never heard of Warner Hall but was so impressed after finding their website and planning a visit.
What a jewel. Historic, pristine, every historic detail in place.
The Inn has 11 bedrooms, it is a bed and breakfast. The rooms are named for family members of the Warner/Washington families. George Washington’s great, great grandfather, a Warner, built the original house.
It is located on the Severn River three miles off of Rt. 17 in Gloucester. When you drive down Feather Bed Lane, take the right on to Warner Hall Road, and then turn into the actual property, you are in another world, another time.
We had much discussion with Theresa, the inn keeper, about the wedding plans. They had every detail in place. The menu is extensive and is overseen by their own award winning Chef Eric Garcia.
As much planning went into Kim and Brian’s wedding, much of the actual wedding was arranged by the staff at Warner Hall. Many of our family members stayed at Warner Hall. The beds are so comfortable and all the rooms are decorated exquisitely.
When one books the wedding, the contract stipulates that all the guests occupy the eleven rooms. Well we could have not been happier. We had the run of the Hall from Friday noon until Sunday noon. No other people would be on site. We were treated like family and no request went unanswered. Breakfast is included each morning and is a gourmet delight. The gourmet menu is fresh and delicious.
The day of the wedding went really well, with the staff walking us through every detail. Luckily the weather was in the 60’s after a cold and snowy winter. The wedding was held outside under the trees.
What a beautiful sight to see our daughter walked down the aisle by her father and my son sitting next to me watching Kim and Brian get married.
The reception was perfect. We had it under the new tent and patio just set up the week before. It was breathtaking to look out at the glorious grounds as we danced the evening away.
Our friends and wedding guests have not stopped telling us how wonderful the wedding was. From the historic venue of Warner Hall to the furnishings to the food they were in awe.
If you ever want to have the perfect event, consider Warner Hall or if you just want a get-away in the perfect location to rest and relax and be pampered, stay at Warner Hall. The ambience, the food, the views are amazing.
Theresa and Troy Stavens are the innkeepers and they will make your stay a special time in your lives…they made our daughter’s special day something we will never forget.
www.warnerhall.com

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and the beds are so comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindabail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was the most amazing B & B we ever stayed. The staff was helpful and anticipated our needs before we asked for them. They were extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Inn, and the Gloucester area. They had good suggestions for places to visit near by, however they provided so much it at the Inn that we could have stayed there the entire weekend and never gotten board.

Be sure to bring your bathing suit. They have a hot tub that they do not advertise. We had to drive to Walmart to get one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The ones on the third floor are roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picturetakingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

As we turned onto the long drive that leads to the large historic plantation house we just knew we had made the right choice for our getaway. Goodbye 21st century, hello 19th century. The house is beyond breathtaking with beautifully furnished comfortable rooms but with all the modern amenities you could ask for. The owners haven't missed a thing. Our bedroom (the Susan Powell room) had a beautiful 4 poster queen bed, several comfortable chairs and TV with a DVD player. (They have a selection of movies in the guest pantry area). Bathroom amenities are Gilchrist and Soames and included soaps, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, a sewing kit and lip balm. They even provide a magnifying makeup mirror. The WIFI in our room worked perfectly.

On the second floor is a guest area with bookcases stocked with books and a pantry with a refrigerator stocked with complimentary soft drinks, a keurig coffee maker with supplies and several types of snacks. Fresh coffee was available each morning by 7.

Do yourself a favor and order their dinner basket if you are there during the week. The price is very reasonable for how generous it is. It includes a choice of appetizers, a cheese and fruit plate, choice of entrees, bread and butter and dessert all beautfifully prepared.

We would definitely return to this beautiful inn if we ever go back to Virginia and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madamqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Driving on Interstate 95 from Savannah to N.J. has been our route for several years. Frankly it gets long and stressful once we hit Virginia. Knowing the worst chunk of the drive awaits us and bone weary, I decided a detour from the highway would offer a needed break. It is a drive, at least an hour, and I wouldn't recommend trying to get there at night, but with a reservation and arrival time well before dark, we pulled into Warner Hall at Dusk. Innkeeper, Troy, greeted us with warmth and a smile. Our room was grand and well appointed. Once settled in, we joined our host for a complimentary drink by the fireside with none other than George and Martha, the innkeepers' dogs who won my heart. The place is steeped in history and the architecture is jaw dropping in the living room.
The morning brought us a hot delicious breakfast with either a sweet or savory choice. I chose the asparagus and mushroom omelet with the boursin cream. Wow!! So flavorful. Compliments to the chef and innkeeper, Theresa!
Once we finished our breakfast, we walked the grounds leading to the Severn River. Tranquil, and majestic, I suddenly felt like I was at Downton Abbey. I told Troy that I was tempted to rename his adorable beagle mix, Isis.
Rested and refreshed, we stayed on the biways for an hour, lingering in the countryside, before heading back to the cold, hard North.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
13.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
15.4 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
15.2 mi away
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Warner Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Warner Hall

Property: Inn at Warner Hall
Address: 4750 Warner Hall Road, Gloucester, VA 23061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Inn At Warner Hall Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing