We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Touring Richmond and the Surrounding Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This Hampton Inn is located in Glen Allen, Virginia, a nice suburb of Richmond. The location worked out very well for us in visiting the historical sites of the Virginia capitol and the outlying region. Traffic was not bad at all and we had the benefit of being near a large mall with the typical secondary strip malls. A supermarket named Ukrops was basically across the street. Although the lobby, breakfast area, and our room were quite attractive, the hotel appears to be having some extensive expansion work done and the swimming pool is currently closed. The property does face the back of one of the strip malls. Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator. This proved to be very useful when we ate one evening at the nearby Texas Roadhouse. The portions were so large that we both took some back to the room. The next evening we bought some items at Ukrops to go with the leftovers and had a great in-room meal. The standard lodging rates appeared somewhat high but we took advantage of the "On to Richmond" 150th Civil War Package. It included a two night stay at a reduced room rate, a packet of information about the area's War Between the States sites, two free admissions to the Museum and White House of the Confederacy, and a coupon for a complimentary item from the museum's gift shop. That museum offers free parking but be sure to visit their web site for directions [www.moc.org]. It proved to be the highlight of our vacation. Don't miss it! If you enjoy historical sites, be sure to swing by the JEB Stuart Monument in Glen Allen. It is close to the hotel, but some of the street signs were difficult to see, especially for those unfamiliar with the surrounding residential areas. Probably would be best to get directions from the front desk. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2009

Normally would not have been my first choice because it was a little more expensive but it is a wonderful property with an outstanding pool area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stevied888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We have stayed here numerous times in the past 2 years when we take our grandsons with us to visit relatives in the area. Most recently we were there Oct.31- Nov 2. The front desk employess are very friendly and helpful.
We enjoy reserving a K Suite with a connecting room for daughter and grandsons. The rooms have been very clean, and comfortable. Rarely have we heard any hall noise at all. My DH isn't fond of the pillows, but I always travel with my own, so now he may decide to do that.
We always use the pool and hot tub and often have it to ourselves. Pool towels are plentiful and the loungers are comfy.
Breakfast in the lobby is well organized, and varied. We always find enticing foods. There are the basics of cereal , yougurt. juices,sweet rolls, muffins, and then they have a changing hot dish ( like french toast, ham or sausage, poached eggs)
We will return here, for the main reason we are very comfortable and feel at home, I realize there are some newer hotels nearby, but after looking them over, like the comfort of these rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelmarvaBellRinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

My husband I enjoyed our stay at this particular Hampton Inn. Our room was very clean, well appointed and definitely comfortable. The king size bed had very soft sheets, four pillows and a fluffy down comforter. The neatest feature was a fully mirrored closet door. The shower had great pressure and the sprayer was mounted very high up which is a good feature for folks of taller stature. There was a "kitchen" area that had a microwave, coffee pot and bar sink. Although we didn't eat at the hotel, I imagine their breakfast offering is consistent with other Hampton Inn locations. The hotel is located behind a strip shopping mall that featured a Starbuck's. Across the street was another shopping development that among many stores featured Michaels craft store, Pier One, PetSmart and a Panera Bread. I recommend driving up Hwy 1 to Aunt Sarah's pancake house for breakfast - can't be beat for a yummy way to start the day. For other eating options, check out the small stand by the elevator for many dining options that aren't you're standard fare. We didn't eat there but Millie's got high praise on the Trip Advisor web-site as well as locals who said it was great. We did eat at the Zeus Gallery Cafe at Grove and Belmont across from St. Benedict's Catholic school. It was absolutely spectacular and I highly recommend it. We got there early - 5:45 p.m. and it filled up quickly as it's kind of cozy. Another eating place that got high marks but we didn't eat at is the Buckhead Chop House. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sst03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

The Hampton Inn Richmond in Glen Allen is a fantastic newer property located very close to 95 and 295. The location was absolutely perfect, there is a strip mall right in front of the hotel (when I say right in front of, is about 200 feet) which has a bunch of restaurants and shops. There is also a pharmacy right nearby as well as a mall and another shopping strip with a grocery store (Ukrops, very good stuff). Because the hotel was only a few minutes to my office and had so much in walkable range, was ideal for my needs.

Check-in
Very easy, room preferences were met. There are four floors and the hotel isn't huge, just the right size. Staff was friendly and helped with local directions.

Room
You know the hotel is new because the card swipe at the door actually went vertically instead of horizontally, kind of like a bank ATM, have never seen that before. The room was a very nice size, two double beds and had a microwave/fridge combo. The flat screen TV was nice, decent channels, however I couldn't get closed caption to work. Beds were the standard Hampton Inn beds, and glad the hotel had a blanket in the closet since the duvet is a little heavy. Iron could have been a bit cleaner, but was okay. AC unit was thermostat controlled, worked very well. Desk and chair were fine, didn't try the free high speed, but was able to get a good signal on my own wireless.

Bathroom was clean, provided small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and mouthwash (nice touch). Counter was inside the bathroom and the size was adequate. They could have had more bath towels, only provided two.

Overall the room was pretty quiet, didn't hear much outside noise or internal hotel noise. Overall, very nice, newer hotel room, definitely exceeded my expectations.

Other
The hotel does have a pool and fitness center, however the fitness center was on the very small side. Someone was using the treadmill, since there was only one, had to forgo. Think there was also a bike and either a stair-climber or elliptical. Breakfast in the AM was the usual fare, also provided my favorite breakfast bags. They have a nice "store" in the hotel that had local items as well as toiletries and snacks.

Overall
The location of this hotel cannot be beat. There is a Springhill very close by where I stayed last time, however was closer to Route 1 and was a little more noisy. This hotel was far enough off the road, walking distance to restaurants and shops and with the clean rooms and nice staff, can't ask for much more. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedHeadGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is undoubtedly one of the nicer Hampton Inns. My husband and I booked a one night stay as a mini-getaway to do some shopping. When we checked in, how surprised was I to find out I had been chosen as the "guest of the day" from the Honors members!! We got a nice bag of goodies and an upgrade to a suite!! The hotel was spotless and the suite was very tastefully decorated. The young man at the front desk was extremely nice. Everything about the hotel is first class. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kwt1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Allen
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
#8 of 23 in Glen Allen
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Virginia Center
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
#1 of 23 in Glen Allen
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Richmond North/Glen Allen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center

Address: 1101 Technology Park Dr, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glen Allen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glen Allen
#3 Family Hotel in Glen Allen
Price Range: $113 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Virginia Hotel Glen Allen
Hampton Inn And Suites Richmond/Virginia Center
Hampton Inn Glen Allen
Glen Allen Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing