We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but Great steak and seafood, not to mention exceptional service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hondos

Hondos
Reserve with OpenTable
Hondos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 164 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad St.
Description: Hondos is Richmond's prime destination for great steak. Hondos features a variety of perfectly aged cuts, broiled to your request and served sizzling. The menu features three different cuts of filet mignon, a cowboy rib-eye and a 24oz porterhouse. Hondos also specializes in fresh seafood with such favorites as jumbo lump (absolutely no-filler) crabcakes, South African lobster tails and a daily "fresh catch" to name a few. Whether a romantic evening for two or a business dinner, Hondos is sure to surpass your highest expectations in food and unparalleled service. Why not join us tonight?
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but Great steak and seafood, not to mention exceptional service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The meal and service was excellent! My steak au poivre was prepared exactly the way I requested and the seared scallops I ordered on the side was fantastic. The servers make it a point to call you by name, offers suggestions and is attentive. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion or just go and spoil yourself on a great meal. Be prepared to pay top dollar though but for me, I wasn't disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1978Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    49
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Probably the best steaks in town, bar none. I've also been dreaming about their fried oysters for quite some time and can't wait to get back there for a plate of them. If you're not in Maryland, this is certainly the place to find good oysters. Needless to say the service is exceptional, every time.....definitely 5-star quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlourGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tender and Delicious Filet Mignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have eaten at the sister resturant, Opus 9, and knew Hondos would not disapoint. We had a 7pm reservation on a Sunday night. I recommend Sundays since they offer half price wine by the bottle. I love the way they cook and serve the steaks here, they are perfectly cooked to order and stay hot through your meal! You will spend some dough here, but it's worth it for the cozy atmosphere and excelent food. Service is very good. We were seated in a noisy location, and asked to be moved to someplace quieter. Our waitress was very accomodating and still gave us great service. Try their Tarimissu! Yummy!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cubgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to Hondos on a whim this pasr Sunday, My husband was looking for a "Great Steak" and he found it, Our meal started with a colossal shrimp appetizer, that was just that enormous and delicious and an order of the lamb chops appetizer as well also perfect. followed by 2 caprese salads, the mozzarella was fresh and the balsamic vinaigrette was very good. main course was a veal chop for me which practically fell of the bone it was so tender and a cowboy steak for my hubby cooked pittsburgh ( something we have found hard to get in the south) some call it black and blue. center extremely rare and the outside practically burnt. Both entrees were perfect! we will definitely be back waiting staff was attentive and polite. Great meal this place is a west end gem!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heartsinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutley Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Prime Rib was fork tender, two in my party ordered seafood which was also great. Our waiter was top notch and friendly. The food is a little pricey but it lives up to the extra cost.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hondos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing