We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Hondos

Hondos
Reserve with OpenTable
Hondos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 166 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad St.
Description: Hondos is Richmond's prime destination for great steak. Hondos features a variety of perfectly aged cuts, broiled to your request and served sizzling. The menu features three different cuts of filet mignon, a cowboy rib-eye and a 24oz porterhouse. Hondos also specializes in fresh seafood with such favorites as jumbo lump (absolutely no-filler) crabcakes, South African lobster tails and a daily "fresh catch" to name a few. Whether a romantic evening for two or a business dinner, Hondos is sure to surpass your highest expectations in food and unparalleled service. Why not join us tonight?
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'm a huge fan of Opus 9 Steakhouse, when I saw that Hondos and Opus 9 were sister restaurants I had to try it! No more driving to Williamsburg for great steak/brunch! I went for lunch and the meal couldn't have been any better! I had steak with a glass of Pinot Grigio and I was in HEAVEN! The staff was attentive, and wonderful! This is my new home steakhouse in Richmond!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brittanywoolfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    21
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food but service is SLOW.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Waited to be seated with plenty of seating as they want you to hang in their bar area and drink. It was late for us to eat and we got seated by 8pm. Table was for some odd reason slanted with the room which placed me too close to the loudest man in Richmond who liked to here his voice. In about five minutes the manager came by to welcome us which was a nice touch. He promised that our server would be by soon. Sure enough ten minutes later he came by and took our drink order. Ten minutes later he brought our drinks. That was the pace of the night. He apologized twice saying they got backed up, never saw the manager again. Waiter was pleasant, food was excellent, but plan on a long night which I think some people like- but not my wife and I. I visit Richmond often but won't visit Hondo's again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food here is always superb as well as the service. May be considered "pricey" to some, but this is a quality restaurant with EXCELLENT steaks. The Cosmopolitans are also done perfectly here. Whether in jeans at the bar or dining in the main area, the service you receive is quality. We eat here at least 1-2 times per quarter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

One of the best steaks I have ever had! Great place to eat and great service! I had the Fillet Mignon with garlic mash... cooked to perfection!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Writetomab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Go on Sunday Morning for the amazing brunch! Best in the state! The staff is the best! They will make you an omelette and then bring it to your table. Yes a little pricey but the quality and service is worth it. Did I mention is a BUFFET brunch! A must try!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveNthe804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hondos also viewed

 

Been to Hondos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing