We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving 2013”

The Glen Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 165 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional dining room with a full wall of windows provides a plentiful breakfast or luncheon buffet daily.
Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving 2013”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Needed a new place to celebrate Thanksgiving this year while our house is being completed. Choice The Glen based on the buffet as our daughter and son-in-law are expecting.
Very nice selection she was just finishing the first trimester. Turkey and ham was tasty, many sides to choice from along with fresh veggies and fruit. Dessert selection could have been more plentiful as some don't/can't each chocolate. Would have also been nice for simple mash potatoes - again a personal preference of our daughter.
Serve was outstanding! Welcoming environment. Would go there again for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Because09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
“Happy Turkey Day”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

So my wife and I decided this year we would forego turning our home into a meal production facility for Thanksgiving. In years past we’ve always enjoyed picking the turkey, the vegetables, making the stuffing, and making the deserts from scratch. This year our family has grown and once we weighed the pros and cons of making our traditional Thanksgiving meal versus going to a restaurant, we opted to try an all inclusive Thanksgiving brunch.

We researched all the Thanksgiving venues in and around Richmond and decided on to give The Glen Restaurant a try. We made our reservations several weeks in advance with ease. We arrived on the beautifully landscaped grounds and with the help of signs, found our way to the restaurant. Parking was easy and once we entered the building found it festively decorated with a holiday theme. The maitre D, was very pleasant and friendly and escorted us to our table. Within minutes our server arrived, took our drink orders then explained where we would find the food selections.

The food selection consisted of the main Thanksgiving staples (Turkey, ham, cranberries, mashed potatoes, as well as several carving and cheese stations). A nice assortment of breads and fruits along with desert choices topped everything off. The atmosphere was inviting and unpretentious and the wait staff helpful and friendly. Given the overall cost, we might consider returning next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“GREAT Buffets”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited for a week while on a business trip. The breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent and the staff is amazing. It does seem expensive - $15 for breakfast, with kids half price - but it went over well with the group and my family. Of course, thinking of paying that much for a bowl of cereal and a banana is kind of upsetting. And children are 11 and under not 12. But there is a great variety and always a chef to make something special (Caesar salad and quisadillas for lunch - waffles and omelets for lunch for instance). Plenty of fresh fruit (great pineapple), lots of choices. Great buffets.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Good Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice and accommodating staff. Good food. Very good buffet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ustraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
356 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

If you have to stay any place for a full week, stay here -- the staff remembers your name, your preferences, and if it is not on the menu, they make any dish for you. Terrific place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Panzerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Glen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing