We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific busy, crowded and delicious food-just as a deli should be!”
Review of Boychiks Deli

Boychiks Deli
Ranked #9 of 166 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Gloucester, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific busy, crowded and delicious food-just as a deli should be!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I search far and wide for Mom/Pop diners, genuine deli's, etc. in VA and visited this delightful deli on the recommendation of my nephew, who lives in Glen Allen. We were not disappointed - it has all of the requisites of a "real" NY deli...it was crowded (good sign), noisy, busy, pretty plain (leave the designer interiors to dinner restaurants please - we just want great food) and the food and service was outstanding! I ordered the Meatball Sub on the recommendation of our waitress and OMG, was she right on it! Delicious! We are planning another trip to Richmond in April and will definitely go back to this deli for at least 1 lunch and possibly more if we choose to do a take-out and picnic at Maymont. BTW, the ladies bathroom was stunning, with sculptures and pictures on the interior bathroom stalls, and also VERY clean. As I said, I could care less about the decor in the restaurant but expect great food and this one delivered! I highly recommend it to all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just like a NY Deli including clutter”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were going to an Ale House right next door, but all of the crowd was filing in here. Wonderful deli sandwiches. Grilled corn beef and pastrami with chopped liver snd bermuda oven. The liver was spread a little too thickly and its flavor and volume overtook the other ingredients.

It is not a picturesque place. Plain tables, the walls ate covered with ads for other area businesses. But the place is dirty. Carpet is worn, floors Needed sweeping, and the hallways are just catch-alls for random boxes of supplies. Same in the restrooms - supplies strewn and thrown about.

The food is very good, but there is a definite lack of pride or care in the facility.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA Area
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great New York Deli”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Deli is a little hard to find, but worth looking for, We went here for lunch 3 times while we were working nearby; we never would have know about it if the local manager hadn't sent us here. We thought everything we got was very good - chicken salad, Rubens, club sandwiches. The soup was excellent too. Both the take out desk and the waitresses are very friendly and helpful, and fast and efficient.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Still pricey, but still WORTH IT”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Been here several times; prices are still high, but FOOD and SERVICE are VERY GOOD. Food;s even improved since last time. You GOTTA try this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Between Philly and Miami there is none better”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed in a nearby hotel, this is my 3rd or 4th visit for lunch. Had the #10, which is a brat w/kraut and pastrami on a kaiser roll. Excellent quality. This place is always pretty busy, but they find seats for everyone in short order. I will be back when I am in town and would recommend to anyone who enjoys this type of restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcravenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boychiks Deli also viewed

 

Been to Boychiks Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing