We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be taking pictures of your food but not of the restaurant”

Peter Chang's China Cafe
Ranked #4 of 166 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crofton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You'll be taking pictures of your food but not of the restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good thing we had reservations as the line was out the door. If only the decor was nicer, it would have made for a special food event for our family. The service was great and all our questions were answered. We selected 3 different appetizers and 4 different entrees including the tea smoked duck, the whole fish and the pork belly. Each dish was amazing and so beautiful we took pictures of them. There was nothing we didn't like and the flavors were spectacular. We most certainly will be back again. And four of us ate dinner (no alcohol or dessert) for about $100. Give this place a try for the best Chinese food but don't get all dressed up as it's nothing fancy inside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    80
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

interesting place in a strip mall in richmond,looks like any other chinese or asian restaurant. food was fresh and tasty, although the spicy aspect was all over the board, some things on the menu were listed as spicy but when they came out they were not. service was ok, and moved quite fast, ( they were very busy after the rest. aired on andrew zimmerman) we were almost ignored for extra's like drinks, and we wanted to order another appetizer. but like I said they were very busy. worth a short wait to get in but maybe wise to call ahead for a reservation. portions were large enough and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartsinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food - Lunch Specials Awesome”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Hot & Sour soup is an excellent starter. Not your common fast food Chinese places. The menu is quite extensive. Everything we have tried has been delicious. Lunch includes your soup and rice. I hearty meal for the money. If you are a light eater, they have no problem with you sharing a lunch entrée. Friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary And Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Not very authentic”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Service is very good, but food is more American-Chinese food, not very authentic Sichuan food. Some dishes are too oliy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, authentic Szechuan cuisine!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you're looking for authentic spicy Szechuan food, Peter Chang is the place to go! From the dry-fried eggplant appetizer to the "hot and numbing" hot pots, you can't go wrong. There are plenty of fantastic less spicy dishes for those who are more tame...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quoctoberfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Chang's China Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Peter Chang's China Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing