We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for family style service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peter Chang's China Cafe

Peter Chang's China Cafe
Ranked #3 of 164 Restaurants in Glen Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
“Good for family style service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good Sichuan restaurant for the area, they have a wide range of menu options to choose from. I'd recommend the mushroom hotpot and hot and numbing beef brisket

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    76
    39
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Killer Chinese food by award-winning chef in a strip mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved that this place is so low key with the very best quality food and ingredients possible. Terrific service and an amazing array of deliciously fresh, carefully seasoned and spiced, reasonably- priced foods by an award-winning chef. A nice contrast to the overly fussy high end restaurants that are proliferating around the US right now. Stick to the spicy food. The other stuff is less impressive. Go for the braised fish with veggies, dry fried eggplant, etc. Listen to the very nice servers and they won't steer you wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This has become a staple of us from the office. The serving sizes are large and are exceptional. It is always busy but I have never had to wait for a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I expected something above and beyond the ordinary. Didn't pan out that way. I had the beef & broccoli, my friend had the sesame chicken. Admitedly neither dish was daring on our parts, but I expected a tried and true Chinese restaurant dish to be extraordinary at Peter Chang's. Didn't happen. The beef, the brown sauce, the broccoli--same old same old. The fried rice was also same as usual. Nothing to write home about. Now, the deep fried eggplant appetizer was delicious. Eggplant sticks coated with a yummy garlicky coating. Cooked to a light golden brown. Yum! I have to say that my overall impression was not great, given the hype. It was overpriced for everyday Chinese food. The waiter was also uninspired. He seemed to be either tired or bored, or both. It was hard to get his attention. He forgot the lemon for my drink. He tried to give me the wrong dish. He should have gone home for a nap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
213 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Most authentic Chinese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Proof that the title is correct is that Asians prefer this restaurant to any other. To Chinese, this is home away from home. And although I am not Asian, I have been to China several times and this place best represents what the renowned restaurants in Beijing serve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irongate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Chang's China Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Peter Chang's China Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing