We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't deserve Marriott branding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Richmond
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
NC-USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve Marriott branding”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

1st not close to King's Dominion. That however is not the problem, I was willing to drive a bit to save the dough. Arrived late. I had several request thru Marriott reward preferences with advance reservation. 2 towels for 4 guest even though requested extra towels and pillows. Requested 1st floor given 3rd. Not a single request was met. Check in was very poor. Area was poorly lit. Room was shoddy and not very clean, especially bathroom. Oddly it looked like they tried to upgrade room a bit. Haha. They actually put a marble countertop glued on top of an old laminate counter top. Not replaced. Beds were hard. Lamp didn't work. Breakfast was ok ,but nothing to write home about. The place simply had a bad feel too it all around. The Springhill Suites in same general area is so much better at same price. I will never be back at this hotel. I have stayed at other Townplace Suites which were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghalelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4231GM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your feedback provides us with specific issues guests may experience before and during their stay with us. My sincerest apologies for not fullfilling your requests. We make every attempt to ensure each of our guests are provided the Marrriott level of service that they expect. Your concerns are definitely being utilized as a training tool to ensure all future needs are met. We do hope that you return in the future to provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
34
16
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is my third year staying at this hotel. I absolutely loved the upgrades. For the price you pay you get such a a great value. I love how its tucked away and in a quiet location. The only thing i can think of that is negative is the walls are a little thin, you can hear noises from the other rooms. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenrescue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4231GM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! I am glad you are happy with our new amenities and updated look. Your continued patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is wonderful for families. We stayed here with our 2 daughters- 8 and 9 yrs. old. The rooms were very clean. We loved having the kitchens and the free breakfast. These saved us a lot of money. We would eat breakfast, pack a lunch for King's Dominion park and then come back to eat dinner. The front desk staff and manager are very kind and helpful. The hotel is in the back of a business park so it is very quiet and yet close to everything. Our girls loved the pool after a long hot day at the park. We will definitely stay here again!!!
The highlight- our daughter left her beloved stuffed animal at the hotel, I called to let them know and the doggie was in the mail to us. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our facilities. I am glad we were able to not only meet but exceed your expectations. It is our goal to make sure your needs are met while you remain within the hotel as well as post departure. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of my friends in the hotel business highly recommended this TownePlace Suites when my wife and I were traveling to Richmond and we truly loved it! We stay as often as we can when traveling to this area of NOVA whether on business or pleasure! The light morning breakfast is very good...not overdone like many hotels. Seems there focus was on wholesome, beneficial and great quality. The rooms, impeccable! We felt like we were at home and the staff was terrific! Thank you...we'll see you again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMGIII_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4231GM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We have recently completed a full hotel renovation. I am sure when you return you will continue to be satisfied with the product we have to offer. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed there for years- and each time it has gotten worse! This time our room 113 had a shower that when we used it at night the handle came almost totally off. We reported it and next day engineering was to fix. We arrive at 6:30 pm after a long hard day of working to find a note from Monique the manager- who says they cannot repair and we need to move. What sense is it to give them as a GOLD member your phone number if they cannot call you to alert you of issues. So we load and move---then the next night come in AGAIN at 6:30 to find the room untouched. Front desk says- opsss they never put the change in the system. Lovely gal Britany brings up towels and such. but again this was now 2 times we are inconvenienced.2nd room not touched by house keeping. So no one is checking on these rooms. Managers answer was to give us points for another visit. HOW DUMB is that- who would want to stay there again? The breakfast again has gotten worse- best thing is the small container of yogurt. Needs updating and perhaps once it is done and they get a new g.m. would be better. For their sake I hope so. To call this a Marriott is disgraceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review as we take all feedback seriously. My sincerest apologies for your experience at the hotel. The hotel was built in 1998 and I am happy to say it is currently undergoing a full renovation scheduled for completion at the end of May. Any issues with plumbing are being addressed during this time as well. I'd like to invite you to stay with us again in the near future. I am sure you will be more than happy with our new appearance. Thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel is really "tucked away" in an industrial park area, I thought my GPS was taking me to the wrong spot. Was sort of difficult to find the office to check-in, not very well lit at night. Room was okay, but pretty dated (as was the rest of the hotel). Lots to do (and eat) very close by. For the price, I'd stick with a full service offering next time (the Hilton up the street is very nice.)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4231GM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Richmond, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We've recently completed a full hotel renovation and I'd like to invite you to stay with us again. I am sure you will find the upgrades more than satisfactory. We are definitely located in a "tucked away" location which serves as both a gift and a curse. It is appreciated by many as our location backs up to a residential area. It is quiet and very peaceful. However, it can be a challenge to find initially. We ask that you reach out to the hotel staff directly if you ever get turned around on any future trips to the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope that choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice quiet cul-de-sac location amidst office park; almost hard to find at night because it is so hidden; tucked away from the main roads. There are two buildings three floors high. Grab and go type breakfast (wrapped muffins, yogurt cups, bananas/apples, canned juices) is served in the lobby of main building. We are Marriott members and have stayed in a variety of their chains; we normally don't stay at this type of accommodations because they take pets but this could be a really nice place especially for long term stay if management puts more attention to detail and cleanliness. Upon arriving to our designated room, it looked like it wasn't vacuumed/cleaned from previous occupant(s). There's shaggy pet hair in the closet; lots of it. Airline tags and stickers left on floor next to couch. Little girl hair clips and bracelet left behind from previous occupant. Windows got paw prints and needs windexing. Tables & furnitures had food oil (from Chinese food?). Lamps dead need light bulb. Nice mini-kitchen had full size fridge, microwave & range/oven. Bring your own pots/pans if you'll be here a while. Bathrooms needs sanitizing and tub floor and surround needs scrubbing!!! All of the outdoor trash bins hasn't been emptied during the entire duration we were there. It was getting stinky! Hallway floors need to be vacuumed or shampooed especially around first floor entrance & elevators. Elevators need to be cleaned as well. Leaves needs blowing in entrances & parking lot vicinity. Could use a new main entrance Marriott welcome mat; this one's dingy and old. Breakfast area floors sticky; could use some mopping. Basically, little stuff like that which needs attention to detail either that or it needs a new hotel manager (when was the last time mgr inspected every single room?!) The staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Peeped in while housekeeping around...some rooms better than others in décor & furnishing. I hate to see a nice place go downhill.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first especially for long term stays; make sure it is to your satisfaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glen Allen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Innsbrook
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond-West End
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Innsbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond West End Short Pump
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
#1 of 23 in Glen Allen
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Innsbrook
Comfort Suites Innsbrook
#15 of 23 in Glen Allen
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Richmond

Property: TownePlace Suites Richmond
Address: 4231 Park Place Ct, Glen Allen, VA 23060-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Glen Allen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit TownePlace Suites Richmond located near the Short Pump Town Center, Kings Dominion, and Shockoe Bottom. Our hotel offers comfort in our two bedroom and studio suites with fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the convenience of our notable amenities including complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, fitness center and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Richmond Hotel Glen Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing