We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
39
52
18
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
39
52
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting great wine tasting room next door different wines virginia wine beautiful grounds driving range service was great golf balls saturday afternoon the reserve va wineries beautiful venue sit outside special events bottle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 117 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019

We have always had a good experience here. We usually go on Friday's to wind down or the special events with music and food trucks(that's when the dog goes too!) Friendly staff and comfortable surroundings. Hint: Try the Chardonel. I rarely drank white wine before coming here but this has become a favorite.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We have done tastings at James River Cellars several times, and they are always fun. They do pairings of wine with doughnuts, Halloween candy, junk foods, etc. -- not your typical winery stuff. Unfortunately the setting is not ideal. It's on an industrial stretch of Highway 1, next door to a golf driving range. So if you're looking for beautiful scenery, it won't be at the top of your list. But if you want to visit a winery without driving to the mountains, it is a great change of pace.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

83 year old Mother and 82 year old Father have never been to a winery. We changed that today. Had a lovely educating experience with Edward as our server. Handsome Husband hadn't been to JRC in 6 years. Love the addition! We had a lovely time!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank darlut19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We did a winery tour and this is one of the places we stopped. It has a nice atmosphere and they have expanded since the last time we were here. Every body like the sample of wines and the wives bought a glass to sit outside and enjoy the day. I would have no problem going back.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank AdakC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Twas a beastly day when My love and I stopped at James River for taste. It was a new Winery to add to our list. It was an empty house, but comfortably appointed with a nice outdoor area. We chose a red flight. We were presented with a red blend, a Merlot, a Petit Verdot, and a Bordeaux-like red blend. All were palatable but not memorable. It merits a revisit in better weather. Service was good and it is a Nice venue. Of some concern were the signs concerning the close proximity to a golf driving range and apparently inept golfers.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews