We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally sourced...fantastic service and food.”
Review of WhistlePig Bistro - CLOSED

WhistlePig Bistro
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Locally sourced...fantastic service and food.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The WhistlePig, is just an all around fantastic place to enjoy food! Roger has locally sourced ingredients and it is amazing the dishes he comes up with on a daily basis, I have eaten there many times and have always had great service and a fantastic meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mdbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Folks”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is our go to place if we are planning a meal out.............The food is always great and the only thing that surpasses it are Roger And Cindy's company!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bitcrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I had lunch at this restaurant on Saturday and were very pleased. The food was prepared quickly and tasted GREAT! We were even more surprised at the low cost considering the quantity and quality of our meal. We will be going back and really recommend this as a stop for any one who is looking for a great meal. Deborah, Floyd, VA

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahC632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quaint and Ecclectic!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What an enjoyable dining experience. Had soup sandwiches and coffee and all were good. It was a good experience, one you'd expect in a big city but nice that it was Glade Spring!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pastorvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“much more than "pig"”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

having had their barbecue from their smaller location in Damascus, VA while visiting family, I was not expecting their selections that are "plant based" my new healthy way of eating. The salad was beautifully presented (fresh ingredients) and my potato soup was very good and non dairy. I was delighted my grandaughter and daughter did not finish the ample order of sweet potato fries - best I have ever had and I made sure that I finished enjoying that selection. Cornbread was whole grain. Our waitress was very attentive to the needs of a toddler, immediately replacing a dropped fork and supplying cookies for dessert. Phone no is 276.492.2295 and I suggest you call ahead to confirm their hours of service

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thankful68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WhistlePig Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing