We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fiddler's Roost Cabins
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Loved our stay at Fiddler’s Roost! We stayed in cabin 3 (bear run) and it was cozy, clean, and comfortable and had so much charm. Everything we needed was right at hand so we only had to leave the cabin if we wanted to. Having breakfast delivered was a total luxury and the food was really tasty. We were celebrating our first anniversary and overall, the atmosphere was PERFECT for a romantic getaway. We loved reading or napping by the fireplace. I would highly recommend a stay here and am sure we will be back, too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracefesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, cozy, and rustic cabin in the woods, specifically during the Fall foliage. We stayed in Cabin #1, Twin Oaks and we loved it! It was exactly what we were looking for! The cabin was perfect for two.The hot tub on the porch was really nice. The bed was comfortable. The only slight disappointment was having scrambled eggs for breakfast two days in a row, especially after reading about the delicious, gourmet breakfasts that everyone was having! This was because Tempe was out of town and Andy was doing the cooking. It was still very good though and generous portions! On our last morning there, we were able to enjoy the bananas foster french toast! Delicious! We also enjoyed having a friendly little kitty visit us each day at the cabin! We would definitely recommend Fiddler's Roost to anyone looking for a cozy and romantic get-away. We celebrated our 5 year anniversary there! We were very sad to leave. We would love to go back and experience the other seasons there. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitkat1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Our recent visit to Fiddlers Roost was absolutely brilliant.

We booked Bearfoot Cabin for four nights and loved every minute of our stay. It was so relaxing and peaceful and provided us with the time we needed off the treadmill of work.

Everything we needed was provided in the cabin, although we never ate our meals inside. The veranda outside, with the rockers and bench, was very generous and gave us even more opportunity for outside living.

Andy and Tempe are perfect hosts. Each morning our breakfast was brought to our cabin, accompanied by one or the other of their lovely dogs. The home cooked breakfasts were delicious. Andy or Tempe would stop for a brief chat each morning before there trip back down the track to their house. Nothing was to much trouble for them. Absolutely perfect.

If you want to spend time relaxing, in a beautiful cabin in the forest this is definitely the place to stay……!! We travelled to Fiddlers Roost from the UK , and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hikers1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This place was absolutely incredible! Andy and Tempe were some of the nicest inn keepers I've ever have come across. This first night I arrived, they invited me to have dinner with them! The cabin was spacious, clean and views were wonderful. Each of the cabins were tucked away in the most beautiful wooded enclaves overlooking the valley below. Home made delicious breakfast was delivered to the cabin each morning. That was some great french toast! Mentioning that I liked farming, Tempe was so sweet to put together a list of farms in the surrounding countryside for me to explore! The Blueridge Parkway is just steps away with some of the most incredible country roads to discover. Great job Andy and Tempe! I will be back for more!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank busternc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay in Cabin 4 at the Fiddler's Roost cabin bed and breakfast. We were instantly relaxed by the beauty of the mountains. The cabin was extremely comfortable and cozy. The fireplace and the tub were big stress relievers. The cabin was clean and very well kept and decorated. We also had a couple's massage and the therapist was super nice and the massage was great. The owners of this lovely mountain get-away were very nice and breakfast was prompt and delicious! We can't wait to go back and are hoping to go about twice a year going forward. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mw0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 36th anniversary in Cabin #4. The mountain view is spectacular and ever changing! The cabin was very cozy and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts every morning and our anniversary dinner were delicious! If you need a respite from the busyness of life, this is the place to go! Make sure to follow Andy and Tempe's directions on their webpage. Mapquest got us stuck in North Carolina! We will definitely be back and recommend Fiddlers Roost to others!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joymurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

What a wonderful spot to "chill", and enjoy the wonders of the fall foilage. Cabin were exactly as pictured on the web. The kitchen has apartment size appliances, and a small frig. We had adaquate table settings for two, but a little short if you had more than two. If you plan on cooking, you should asked what is availabe. We had no measuring cup, storage bowls, or cooking sheets etc. The living room has table with four chairs, and a hidabed sofa. The bath is down, and the bedroom is up. We were in cabin 6 (Vintage View) and had great views and seating on the porch for four. Some of the other cabins only had seating on the porch for two. The cabins are somewhat remote, and not real convenient to stores and resturants. Unless your into adventure, driving at night could be a challenge. TV reception is spotty. There is no computer internet service, however I did get service with a Blackberry. Getting to the cabin step is somewhat steep , and there are quite a few steps up to the door. The bathroom had nice amenities, and the spa tub was great with move than enought hot water. It was chilly ad night, and the fireplace on low keep the cabin heated well. Breakfast being delivered was a definite treat.

We enjoyed going to the Blue Ridge music center (Minutes Away), and Mount Airy Fall Leaf Celebration, and wondering around Galax for an afternoon. The Shelton Vineyard's is another great spot. They have a nice resonable tour and tasting, and a superb resturant.

Linens, kitchen, and all surface areas of the cabin very clean, but they could use a good dusting. Like under the bed, and the paddle fans. I did do some dusting where I was going to store clothes.

I would highly recomment this wonderful spot, and hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
545 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
448 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#6 of 8 in Hillsville
145 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
501 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Doctor's Inn
The Doctor's Inn
#2 of 3 in Galax
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's Roost Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's Roost Cabins

Address: 485 Fishers Peak Road, Galax, VA 24333-4800
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a log cabin village located on 25 beautiful acres along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you'll find eight private, each with hot tubs, comfortable and authentic log cabins (3 lofts & 4 bungalows and the main lodge) each with gas fireplaces, full kitchens, outdoor grills and picnic tables, fresh linens and breakfast delivered each morning. Biking, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding and winery tours are just a few things the mountains have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing