We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of The Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Doctor's Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Fullerton, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Dr's Inn Bed and breakfast is not only beautiful, but it has a very interesting history, as well. Margot, the manager, welcomed us with all the southern hospitality you could ask for. The front veranda makes a great place to sit, and even has a porch swing. The rooms are beautiful, furnished with unique and lovely items from the Dr's travels. The bed and linens were wonderful. And breakfast was just plain delicious. Coffee and other treats were available all day. The hardest part was to tear ourselves away when it was time to leave.

Room Tip: Both the Bolen and the Stamey rooms are nicely located kind of off in their own corner, one above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randisue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were lucky to get a reservation during the Fiddler's Convention and were really impressed with Doctors bed and breakfast. Rooms were large, charming and well appointed. The food was delicious and Margo (the innkeeper) was delightful and everything a great innkeeper should be.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff is wonderful & the Bed & Breakfast is delightful! Wonderfully decorated & has
historical factors.
Love the front porch & the Gazebo!
Within 6 miles of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Very close to the small town of Galax, which
has quant shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally special, they each have special décor & viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trezenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Doctor's Inn, and highly recommend it. It was very attractive and comfortable, with many thoughtful touches. In season, the front porch is beautiful and relaxing, and the breakfasts were great, with perfect portion sizes. The innkeeper Margo is extremely helpful without being intrusive. The inn is located a short walk to downtown Galax (and the wonderful Rex Theater) and a short bike ride to the start of the New River Rail Trail. Margo also told us about the concerts at the nearby Blue Ridge Music Center, and it was a real treat to hear music there. Staying at the Doctor's Inn made our visit to Galax just what we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at The Doctor's Inn in the Stamey Room for four nights in search of mountain music - the inn was very well kept inside and out - we were well pleased with our room selection, save maybe having another chair in addition to the one that was in the room - thick bathrobes were at the ready in our large closet so we could discretely access our hall bathroom - innkeeper Margo took very good care of us during our four day stay, each morning greeting us with freshly prepared gourmet goodies like quiches, scones, and fruit smoothies that she served in the inn's elegant dining room - a couple of special touches Margo extended us during our stay were a free bottle of Doc's (Barbecue) Sauce upon our check-in and later in our stay, a gift card to Scoots, a restaurant in Galax that Margo became aware of that we had ate at and liked - in between sitting on the inn's expansive well appointed porch, listening to the birds and breathing in the fresh mountain air, we enjoyed music at the Stringbean Cafe in Galax, at the Blue Ridge Music Center right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, at the courthouse in Independence, and at the Rex Theater in Galax - to be cured of what ails you, check into The Doctor's Inn and find out where the music is playing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Doctor's Inn was perfect.
The Inn perches on a hill with a great view of the small town and the mountans; the front porch and balcony have plenty of chairs and rockers for visiting and relaxing. Margo, the innkeeper brims with southern hospitality and local dining and shopping information. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were beautifully appointed. We have already booked out next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayaks1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an older home that had been used as a doctor's office. The facility is incredibly clean and neat. Our bedroom was very nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and ample storage for clothes. The next door bathroom had a claw foot tub and a wraparound shower curtain. Additionally, the bathroom had thoughtful touches for forgetful travelers.

Though it was raining when we were there and we didn't take advantage of it the inn has a beautiful and very large front porch with a nice view of the surrounding mountains.

Our breakfast was excellent with a one of the best quiches that we have ever had.

Room Tip: None of the 6 available rooms is a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorsInnVA, Innkeeper at The Doctor's Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and your stay with us at the Inn. We hope your travels will bring you back to Galax when it's warm so that you can enjoy our wonderful front porch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
515 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
433 reviews
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
66 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Property: The Doctor's Inn
Address: 406 W Stuart Dr, Galax, VA 24333-2736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Doctor's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing