We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Bed & Breakfast - Won't Be My Last”
Review of The Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Doctor's Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast til this one. I thought it would be weird - like staying in a stranger's house and having to make awkward conversation. Well, I was wrong, at least about this place. The manager goes home at night and comes back in the morning to make a wonderful breakfast. I met some of the nicest people I've ever met, had great conversations, and found myself wishing I could stay longer and sit on the porch chatting with my new friends. The rooms and house are lovely, and the town is within walking distance.

Incidentally, we had dinner in town (very good), and then went to the Friday night show at the Rex Theater. Such good music, and such nice people in Galax. I will make it a point to come this way again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

Spent one night here on our trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway-peaceful and comfortable stay-loved the swing on the front porch and the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was my third stay at The Doctor's Inn. Each time I find more and more things to like. The front porch swing was wonderful. Margo, as always, made me feel right at home. This is one of my favorite places!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdytrt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at Dr's Inn, and it was again wonderful. The home is so delightful and filled with beautiful and interesting items from around the world. The innkeeper is warm and helpful. And breakfast is a cut above what we've had in most other B&Bs. The two times we've stayed have been in the winter. On the downside, we didn't get to enjoy sitting on the lovely, huge porch. On the plus side, we were the only guests, so we had the house to ourselves... A real treat. And this way we didn't have to deal with sharing the bathroom with anyone. Being a 100 year old house, which was converted to a B&B relatively recently, the rooms do not have private baths. Another great thing about a winter weekend stay is their special two night offer - an approx 30% discount and a welcome basket with wine, cheese, etc... If you want a beautiful place to relax, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: We like the Dr Cox room. It's one of the more spacious rooms and has a comfy leather couch as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjacobs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorsInnVA, Manager at The Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at The Doctor's Inn Virginia. It was our pleasure having you visit us for the second time and we're glad you had such a wonderful quite and relaxing weekend. Sometimes it's good to have the Inn all to yourself, but at anytime you will not have to be concern about sharing bathrooms, that's a "no no" here at the inn.
Our goal always is to treat our guests as special as they are!!
We hope you can visit us again and enjoy this wonderful front porch when it's a warm and delightful day.
Margo
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This review comes 5 months after our stay! We can still remember how much Margo and the Inn impacted us. We immediately fell in love with Margo and the charm just grew from there. Margo greeted us with great warmth. We had no reservations so she gave us a tour of the available rooms. It didn't take us long to make the decision and we made those reservations! Nothing was too much for Margo and our requests. We wanted to find dinner to bring it back to sit on and enjoy the Inn's glorious and spacious porch. She gave us information about where to get food and adult beverages and we were on our way. The special treat we enjoyed occurred when Margo, at the end of a long day, instead of heading home, sat down and visited with us on the porch! Such homeyness! The breakfast the next day was fantastic and Margo's special touches on everything were so appreciated! We traded recipes with Margo and just enjoyed thoroughly her company. The Inn is a seller but Margo puts it over the top!!! Sorry for such a long delay in writing this review but we never forgot about you, Margo! We will definitely come back! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Peggy & Frank

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoctorsInnVA, Manager at The Doctor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for such a great review!! it was great meeting you both and having time to visit
on the front porch. The best thing about being the Innkeeper for this wonderful Inn, is meeting
great folks like you who before you leave have become friends.
Take care and hope to see you soon!
Margo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Well positioned and comfortable. The only issue which I think is quite important as we were there for 3 days, the beds were not made during the day for when we returned. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Keen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I were in Va. to visit relatives and learned of the The Doctors Inn. Margo makes you feel right at home. The home is beautiful and beds were very comfortable. Margo prepared a different breakfast every morning and it too was wonderful. A very relaxing place to stay. Judy and Randy Halsey

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
545 reviews
10.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
448 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
67 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hillsville
Hampton Inn Hillsville
#2 of 8 in Hillsville
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Address: 406 W Stuart Dr, Galax, VA 24333-2736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price Range: $150 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Doctor's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing