We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stop here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Galax Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galax Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stop here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The picture you see on the website was obviously taken elsewhere. The location of the Motel is why we chose the place. First we were charged $40 whereas the website says $29-$35. When we got to the door the paint was bubbled and pealing. Happened to notice there was a microwave outside in the corner for "community use!" We then entered the room. The mattress sagged in the middle. The shower head was tied on with a shoestring. The subfloor by the toilet was rotted. And the pictures were stapled to the wall. When my husband went to dry off after his shower the towel ripped wher it was dry rotted. My towel had a hole eaten completely thru wher it been folded by a mouse. The next morning when I asked for clean towels the manager informed me you only got 1 towel per week stay. There was a 4 in by 1/2 in gap between door and jam. I would suggest that you stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Huffman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place was horrid. I wouldn't let my dog stay in the room. From the outside, we knew it looked a little ragged. Thankfully, I was in town for only a few hours, visiting my friend. I just needed a place to change and chill for a little while. The owner was quite rude. Went to room 11, walked in the door, it was around 30 degrees inside. There was a small fan heater, I immediately turned it on. There were holes in the floors, the door barely shut, cold air blew in around every edge of the door, and I'm pretty sure if someone kicked it from the outside, it would have broken off the hinges. The floor was wet and moldy, the hot water took FOREVER to come on, it was plain nasty. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Don't let the photo full you. This place is not kid friendly and customer service was horrible as soon as he found out I had children he said he had no rooms available. Guess unless you want to do drugs and trash the place you are not welcome. Seen a room before and it was very small one bed and smelled of smoke and mold. Nothing like the picture shown on review.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlatronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had read good reviews on the Galax Motel website, so we decided to try it out on a mini vacation with limited funds. When we drove in, we were quite skeptical, but decided to go for it. It does indeed look pretty run-down - but the staff was very friendly and pleasant. When we went into our room, we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean and the place was very quite - except for a little road noise from time to time. No frills here - but the price is great if you're on a budget. Good location too. Our biggest let-down was no coffee! When we checked out at around 9 AM - the office was closed and of course we couldn't even get a cup of coffee. Had to hang keys on a hook outside of door. That issue could have been a little better - maybe have staff available in the morning and a nice pot of coffee available for guests. All in all, would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank classy_carolina_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Motel 6 Hillsville
Motel 6 Hillsville
#3 of 8 in Hillsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Doctor's Inn
The Doctor's Inn
#1 of 3 in Galax
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galax Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galax Motel

Property: Galax Motel
Address: 549 E Stuart Dr, Galax, VA 24333-2218
Location: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wireless internet access, 24 hour front desk, free local telephone calls, free coffee in morning, nonsmoking rooms/facilities. Check in time 12:30 pm. Check out Time 11:00 am. Restaurant nearby. Television with cable, alarm clock with radio, hair dryers in all rooms, refrigerator in rooms, connecting rooms, low weekly rates. All Rooms on Ground Floor. Welcome MasterCard, Visa, and Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing