We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Galax DOES Have a Good Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 104 Main - CLOSED

104 Main
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
southwest virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Galax DOES Have a Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I never thought I would say that but this really does break the endless cycle of chain restaurants and greasy spoons. The food is very fresh and clean. It has tons of healthy selections. I don't think there is one fried item on the entire menu. They also have great specialty coffees. I recommend the quiche. It changes varieties but always tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The restaurant is very pretty but the service is very slow (around 1:30 on Saturday) and the food was just okay. We tried 1 salad and 2 sandwiches.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivorykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem in small town Galax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Wonderful pastries for breakfast and paninis for lunch. We were surprised to find such a lovely coffee house. The decor is beautiful and the food is delicious.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I'd Come Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

It wasn't spectacular, but if this place was in my town, I'd return. Didn't expect to find very good spaghetti and meatballs in rural Virginia, but that's what I had. Nice, varied menu, decent prices and wine selection. Hope it continues to do well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Service was poor.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The waitress we had neglected coming back to our table to take our food order. The other wait person stepped in. Later our original waitress brought our food out. We asked for more tea and an extra plate. She never came back. NEVER! She proceeded to help 3 other tables near us. We would have ordered dessert but as I said she never came back. I had to go up to the register since she didn't bring the check. Maybe it was just a bad night but that was our first impression unfortunately. The food was very good however and the atmosphere was inviting.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zxzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 104 Main also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing